College News for April 22

EducationColleges and UniversitiesHuman InterestEastern Kentucky UniversityRyan Young

Honor society

Amber Lynne Wiley, daughter of Debbie and Tony Lawson of Harrodsburg and Mike Wiley of Pikeville, was inducted into Eastern Kentucky University’s chapter of Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society on April 6. 

Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest, largest and most selective all-discipline honor society and the highest academic honor to which EKU students may aspire. Wiley is pursuing a master’s degree in public health with an emphasis in environment health science. Wiley, who has a 4.0 GPA, will present her master’s thesis on grey water recycling for irrigation purposes during the sumer session, after which she will earn her graduate degree.



Union College: Ryan Young of Waynesburg recieved the the Hobart Jarvis Sr. Creative Writing Award given to a student with exceptional talent in creative writing. The award was presented to Young by Frankie Jarvis and family. 


Dean’s list

National College: Candice Porter of Bethelridge; Sarah Williamson of Burgin; Melissa Noe, Sandra Allen and Bonnie Owens, all of Crab Orchard; Brandon Anderson, Katie Bell, Forney Bierly, Kelley Brusaw, Bettina Burdette, Tephanie Dragoo, Lori Everett-Evans, Ida Faulkner, Elizabeth Floyd, Clarissa Hill, Sara Huff, Althea Lear, Jonathan Leftwich, Amanda Mitchell, Brandi Valeu, Nathan Valeu, Kyntoia Wilkinson, Samantha Yocum, George Steele and Lesa Moor, all of Danville; Tiffany Goode of Dunnville; Tamala Williams of Eubank; Linda Findling, Heather Hill, Angie Lawson and Melissa Darland, all of Harrodsburg; Edward Cole and Robert Robbins, both of Hustonville; Kirstie Arnold, Ashley Bell, Debra Johnson, Angela Lemire, April Poynter, Cameron Hall, and Brenda Stipe, all of Lancaster; Anastacia Atwood of Liberty; Kelly Allen and Jessie Mullins of Paint Lick;  Chasity Paul, Alana Gatliff, Kimberly James, Lori Owens, Jalessa Owsley, William Patrick, Samantha Patterson, Harley Taylor and Christina White of Stanford; Traci Jones of Waynesburg; and Jennifer Harmon of Willisburg.

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times