3. Is Terrell Suggs going to be able to play?

As <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVSPR000032" title="NFL Pro Bowl" href="/topic/sports/football/nfl-pro-bowl-EVSPR000032.topic">Pro Bowl</a> outside linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008622" title="Terrell Suggs" href="/topic/sports/football/terrell-suggs-PESPT000008622.topic">Terrell Suggs</a> put it: "We kind of live by the creed of, if you can breathe, then you can play."<br>
<br>
Well, the reigning <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="National Football League" href="/topic/sports/football/national-football-league-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a> Defensive Player of the Year is breathing and he's practicing despite a torn right biceps, albeit on a limited basis. It’s telling that he was listed as questionable Friday.<br>
<br>
Although Suggs characterized himself as a game-time decision, typically the players the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> list as questionable do play in the game.<br>
<br>
And Suggs is tough. Not only is he back early from a surgically-repaired partially torn right Achilles tendon suffered in late April, but he once played in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000000250" title="American Football Conference" href="/topic/sports/football/american-football-conference-ORSPT000000250.topic">AFC</a> championship game despite a painful shoulder injury and recorded three sacks.<br>
<br>
Bottom line: Suggs isn't normal when it comes to pain threshold.<br>
<br>
And this is a huge game.<br>
<br>
The Ravens make the playoffs with a victory. They can clinch the division with a win combined with losses by the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000037" title="Cincinnati Bengals" href="/topic/sports/football/cincinnati-bengals-ORSPT000037.topic">Cincinnati Bengals</a> and the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000055" title="Pittsburgh Steelers" href="/topic/sports/football/pittsburgh-steelers-ORSPT000055.topic">Pittsburgh Steelers</a>.<br>
<br>
They need Suggs to play and play well against <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0014793" title="Robert Griffin III" href="/topic/sports/football/robert-griffin-iii-PESPT0014793.topic">Robert Griffin III</a>.<br>
<br>
Unless there’s a problem in warm-ups, Suggs seems likely to play. And his gutty presence may inspire his teammates.<br>
<br>
It's been a rough week for Suggs. There was the injury to deal with, and also legal issues involving his longtime girlfriend, Candace Williams, and a custody battle for the couple's two young children.<br>
<br>
A good performance against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000226" title="Washington Redskins" href="/topic/sports/football/washington-redskins-ORSPT000226.topic">Redskins</a> would be one way for Suggs to take his mind off his troubles for a few hours.

( Getty Images / December 2, 2012 )

As Pro Bowl outside linebacker Terrell Suggs put it: "We kind of live by the creed of, if you can breathe, then you can play."

Well, the reigning NFL Defensive Player of the Year is breathing and he's practicing despite a torn right biceps, albeit on a limited basis. It’s telling that he was listed as questionable Friday.

Although Suggs characterized himself as a game-time decision, typically the players the Ravens list as questionable do play in the game.

And Suggs is tough. Not only is he back early from a surgically-repaired partially torn right Achilles tendon suffered in late April, but he once played in the AFC championship game despite a painful shoulder injury and recorded three sacks.

Bottom line: Suggs isn't normal when it comes to pain threshold.

And this is a huge game.

The Ravens make the playoffs with a victory. They can clinch the division with a win combined with losses by the Cincinnati Bengals and the Pittsburgh Steelers.

They need Suggs to play and play well against Robert Griffin III.

Unless there’s a problem in warm-ups, Suggs seems likely to play. And his gutty presence may inspire his teammates.

It's been a rough week for Suggs. There was the injury to deal with, and also legal issues involving his longtime girlfriend, Candace Williams, and a custody battle for the couple's two young children.

A good performance against the Redskins would be one way for Suggs to take his mind off his troubles for a few hours.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook