5. Can the Ravens slow down Alfred Morris?

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000226" title="Washington Redskins" href="/topic/sports/football/washington-redskins-ORSPT000226.topic">Redskins</a> rookie running back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0015729" title="Alfred Morris" href="/topic/sports/football/alfred-morris-PESPT0015729.topic">Alfred Morris</a> drives the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="National Football League" href="/topic/sports/football/national-football-league-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a>'s top-ranked rushing attack.<br>
<br>
He has rushed for 1,106 yards, tied with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000220" title="Tampa Bay Buccaneers" href="/topic/sports/football/tampa-bay-buccaneers-ORSPT000220.topic">Tampa Bay Buccaneers</a> rookie running back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0014959" title="Doug Martin (football)" href="/topic/sports/football/doug-martin-%28football%29-PESPT0014959.topic">Doug Martin</a> for the most rushing yards among NFL rookies.<br>
<br>
The sixth-round discovery from Florida Atlantic is built low to the ground at 5-foot-9, 218 pounds and has great balance and tackle-breaking skills.<br>
<br>
The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> will need to wrap up Morris and get him on the ground. They've proven susceptible in recent weeks to having trouble with physical runners like <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000055" title="Pittsburgh Steelers" href="/topic/sports/football/pittsburgh-steelers-ORSPT000055.topic">Pittsburgh Steelers</a> power back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008953" title="Jonathan Dwyer" href="/topic/sports/football/jonathan-dwyer-PESPT00008953.topic">Jonathan Dwyer</a>.<br>
<br>
Morris is averaging 92.2 rushing yards per contest and is the Redskins' first 1,000-yard rusher since Clinton Portis four years ago.<br>
<br>
Playing without starting inside linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012395" title="Dannell Ellerbe" href="/topic/sports/football/dannell-ellerbe-PESPT0012395.topic">Dannell Ellerbe</a>, who has been ruled out with right foot and ankle injuries, only makes the job tougher for the Ravens’ 23rd-ranked rushing defense.

( Getty Images / December 4, 2012 )

Redskins rookie running back Alfred Morris drives the NFL's top-ranked rushing attack.

He has rushed for 1,106 yards, tied with Tampa Bay Buccaneers rookie running back Doug Martin for the most rushing yards among NFL rookies.

The sixth-round discovery from Florida Atlantic is built low to the ground at 5-foot-9, 218 pounds and has great balance and tackle-breaking skills.

The Ravens will need to wrap up Morris and get him on the ground. They've proven susceptible in recent weeks to having trouble with physical runners like Pittsburgh Steelers power back Jonathan Dwyer.

Morris is averaging 92.2 rushing yards per contest and is the Redskins' first 1,000-yard rusher since Clinton Portis four years ago.

Playing without starting inside linebacker Dannell Ellerbe, who has been ruled out with right foot and ankle injuries, only makes the job tougher for the Ravens’ 23rd-ranked rushing defense.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook