CARDINALS RUN OFFENSE VS RAVENS RUN DEFENSE

Whether <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000031" title="Arizona Cardinals" href="/topic/sports/football/arizona-cardinals-ORSPT000031.topic">Cardinals</a> running back <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0014366" title="Beanie Wells" href="/topic/sports/football/beanie-wells-PESPT0014366.topic">Beanie Wells</a> plays or not &mdash; he's considered a game-time decision &mdash; the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> should have an advantage in this matchup. The Ravens' rush defense, which did allow 105 yards to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000180" title="Jacksonville Jaguars" href="/topic/sports/football/jacksonville-jaguars-ORSPT000180.topic">Jaguars</a>' <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008487" title="Maurice Jones-Drew" href="/topic/sports/football/maurice-jones-drew-PESPT008487.topic">Maurice Jones-Drew</a>, though it was on 30 carries, is surrendering 85.8 yards on the ground per game, the third-lowest mark in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="National Football League" href="/topic/sports/football/national-football-league-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a>. Linebackers <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008514" title="Ray Lewis" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-lewis-PESPT008514.topic">Ray Lewis</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008627" title="Jarret Johnson" href="/topic/sports/football/jarret-johnson-PESPT000008627.topic">Jarret Johnson</a> and defensive tackle <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000086231" title="Haloti Ngata" href="/topic/sports/football/haloti-ngata-PESPT0000086231.topic">Haloti Ngata</a> have been stout against the run, and the Ravens have also benefited from the emergence of nose tackle <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012299" title="Terrence Cody" href="/topic/sports/football/terrence-cody-PESPT0012299.topic">Terrence Cody</a> and linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012738" title="Jameel McClain" href="/topic/sports/football/jameel-mcclain-PESPT0012738.topic">Jameel McClain</a> (above). The Cardinals' running game has been inconsistent, compiling 98 yards per game. Only eight teams average less. Wells has carried 91 times for 423 yards and six touchdowns, tied for the third-most rushing touchdowns in the NFL. Three of those touchdowns came in an Oct. 2 loss to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000197" title="New York Giants" href="/topic/sports/football/new-york-giants-ORSPT000197.topic">New York Giants</a>. Wells hurt his knee in last week's <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000055" title="Pittsburgh Steelers" href="/topic/sports/football/pittsburgh-steelers-ORSPT000055.topic">Steelers</a> game, but he improved steadily throughout the week. If he can't go, Arizona will go with a running-back-by-committee approach with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0014255" title="LaRod Stephens-Howling" href="/topic/sports/football/larod-stephens-howling-PESPT0014255.topic">LaRod Stephens-Howling</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0014217" title="Alfonso Smith" href="/topic/sports/football/alfonso-smith-PESPT0014217.topic">Alfonso Smith</a> and former Raven <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0014280" title="Chester Taylor" href="/topic/sports/football/chester-taylor-PESPT0014280.topic">Chester Taylor</a>.<br>
<b>EDGE:</b> RAVENS

( Baltimore Sun photo by Gabe Dinsmoor / August 19, 2011 )

Whether Cardinals running back Beanie Wells plays or not — he's considered a game-time decision — the Ravens should have an advantage in this matchup. The Ravens' rush defense, which did allow 105 yards to the Jaguars' Maurice Jones-Drew, though it was on 30 carries, is surrendering 85.8 yards on the ground per game, the third-lowest mark in the NFL. Linebackers Ray Lewis and Jarret Johnson and defensive tackle Haloti Ngata have been stout against the run, and the Ravens have also benefited from the emergence of nose tackle Terrence Cody and linebacker Jameel McClain (above). The Cardinals' running game has been inconsistent, compiling 98 yards per game. Only eight teams average less. Wells has carried 91 times for 423 yards and six touchdowns, tied for the third-most rushing touchdowns in the NFL. Three of those touchdowns came in an Oct. 2 loss to the New York Giants. Wells hurt his knee in last week's Steelers game, but he improved steadily throughout the week. If he can't go, Arizona will go with a running-back-by-committee approach with LaRod Stephens-Howling, Alfonso Smith and former Raven Chester Taylor.
EDGE: RAVENS

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook