RAVENS RUN OFFENSE VS. CARDINALS RUN DEFENSE

After the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000161" title="Baltimore Ravens" href="/topic/sports/football/baltimore-ravens-ORSPT000161.topic">Ravens</a> were reminded all week about how <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0000086232" title="Ray Rice" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-rice-PESPT0000086232.topic">Ray Rice</a> (above) got only eight carries in Monday's 12-7 loss to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000180" title="Jacksonville Jaguars" href="/topic/sports/football/jacksonville-jaguars-ORSPT000180.topic">Jacksonville Jaguars</a>, it would be surprising if the game plan didn't include a heavy workload for the running back. His 13 touches were the second fewest since he took over as the Ravens' starter in 2009. The Ravens know that to be successful, they need to get their run game going as the team is currently averaging only 107 yards on the ground. That's just 19th in the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000007" title="National Football League" href="/topic/sports/football/national-football-league-ORSPT000007.topic">NFL</a>, a disappointing number for a team that has long prided itself on its physical running game. The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000031" title="Arizona Cardinals" href="/topic/sports/football/arizona-cardinals-ORSPT000031.topic">Cardinals</a> have been successful neutralizing the opposing team's rushing attack, allowing 113.2 yards per game on the ground. That's good for 14th in the NFL. In a 32-20 loss to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000055" title="Pittsburgh Steelers" href="/topic/sports/football/pittsburgh-steelers-ORSPT000055.topic">Pittsburgh Steelers</a> last week, the Cardinals held <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012772" title="Rashard Mendenhall" href="/topic/sports/football/rashard-mendenhall-PESPT0012772.topic">Rashard Mendenhall</a> to 32 yards on 13 carries. Linebacker <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT004312" title="Paris Lenon" href="/topic/sports/football/paris-lenon-PESPT004312.topic">Paris Lenon</a> leads the Cardinals with 37 tackles, while defensive tackle <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013523" title="Darnell Dockett" href="/topic/sports/football/darnell-dockett-PESPT0013523.topic">Darnell Dockett</a>, a Burtonsville native, also can be tough against the run. He had five tackles, 1.5 sacks and a fumble recovery in his lone career game against the Ravens.<br>
<b>EDGE:</b> EVEN

( Photo for The Baltimore Sun by Doug Kapustin / October 16, 2011 )

After the Ravens were reminded all week about how Ray Rice (above) got only eight carries in Monday's 12-7 loss to the Jacksonville Jaguars, it would be surprising if the game plan didn't include a heavy workload for the running back. His 13 touches were the second fewest since he took over as the Ravens' starter in 2009. The Ravens know that to be successful, they need to get their run game going as the team is currently averaging only 107 yards on the ground. That's just 19th in the NFL, a disappointing number for a team that has long prided itself on its physical running game. The Cardinals have been successful neutralizing the opposing team's rushing attack, allowing 113.2 yards per game on the ground. That's good for 14th in the NFL. In a 32-20 loss to the Pittsburgh Steelers last week, the Cardinals held Rashard Mendenhall to 32 yards on 13 carries. Linebacker Paris Lenon leads the Cardinals with 37 tackles, while defensive tackle Darnell Dockett, a Burtonsville native, also can be tough against the run. He had five tackles, 1.5 sacks and a fumble recovery in his lone career game against the Ravens.
EDGE: EVEN

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook