Third baseman Manny Machado made a nice play back-handing Peralta's ball down the third-base line and made a strong throw across the infield to Reynolds. The throw was wide, but Reynolds, who has played very well at first this season, lunged to catch the ball, his right foot toeing the bag.
Kellogg called Peralta out, but once Peralta, Tigers manager
After discussing it, the umps changed the call. Reynolds blew his top, slamming his glove on the ground, which prompted second-base up Vic Carapazza, who wasn’t involved in the discussion to change the call, to eject Reynolds. Orioles manager
After the game, Reynolds spoke his mind about the umpiring. Changing the call was one thing, he said, but the fact that Timmons missed a call earlier in the game – he called
Reynolds will likely face a hefty fine for what he said following the game. And he probably won't get much help from umpires for the rest of the season. But he might have endeared himself to the Orioles Nation for standing up for his team. Regardless, his postgame interview was one of the most captivating this season – full of honesty and raw emotion.
So here is Mark Reynolds unplugged, a full transcript of what Reynolds said after the game:
What was your reaction to the reversed call?
First of all, Manny made a hell of a play. Tough throw and I stayed on the bag and that's why I got so upset. I don't understand how an umpire can miss a play at home plate that's right in front of him and see that play from home plate at first base. It's embarrassing that they would overturn a call that obviously has an impact on the game in the middle of the pennant race. Obviously by the way I acted, it's very frustrating. I've never seen it in my life an umpire reverse a call after the right call is made. And it's obviously on the replay I kept my foot on the bag. I was pretty mad.
Were you surprised when it was reversed?
Definitely. I’ve never in my life seen someone reverse a call. The guy in Colorado [Rockiesfirst baseman
Did you think you'd get ejected after throwing your glove?
That's terrible. [Second-base umpire] Vic [Carapazza] has no authority to throw me out right there. All I did was an equipment violation. It's a fine. You are supposed to point at it and the league offices decide what to do there. He just threw me out right there. I didn't do anything wrong. If I go up to him and say something to him, that I shouldn't say, that's fine. Throw me out there for that. But you can't throw me out for throwing my glove. What's the difference between a guy throwing his helmet after a bad call? It's just part of it and everybody goes on their way. He had no right to throw me out there. There's just so many words I can't say on this camera right now that I want to say.
How tough was it having those calls go against you?