Ravens haven't had success with second-round picks

Ravens general manager

Ozzie Newsome

has earned his reputation as one of the league’s best talent evaluators due in large part to his success with hitting on first-round selections such as

Ray Lewis


Ed Reed


Chris McAlister


Terrell Suggs


Haloti Ngata

. But how has he fared in the second round?

Looking at the Ravens’ 14 second-round picks since their inaugural season in 1996, there are a handful of underperforming players and just one

Pro Bowl

player -- current starting running back

Ray Rice

. That’s not to say Newsome hasn’t found productive players in Round 2. But Rice is the only gem he has unearthed.

Rice was selected with the 55th pick in the 2008 draft, which was acquired when the Ravens dropped back in the first round before moving back up a few spots to select quarterback

Joe Flacco

. Rice has piled up 4,544 yards from scrimmage and scored 14 total touchdowns in three


seasons, and was named to the Pro Bowl in 2009. But Rice has been an exception.

Cornerback DeRon Jenkins (1996), wide receiver

Patrick Johnson

(1998) and linebacker Dan Cody (2005) were bona fide busts. And though it takes at least three years to fairly evaluate young players, it appears linebacker turned defensive end Paul Kruger (2009) and linebacker

Sergio Kindle

(2010) are heading in that direction.


Jamie Sharper

(1997) was a valuable member of the Ravens’ 2000 championship team, and safety

Kim Herring

(1997), cornerback Gary Baxter (2001) and defensive linemen Anthony Weaver (2002) and Dwan Edwards (2004) all spent at least two seasons in the starting lineup. None turned out to be stars, though.

So if two weeks from now at the draft, Newsome again trades out of the first round for an extra second-rounder --

-- curb your enthusiasm. History shows it might not pay off big.

Thanks to

, here's a list of every Ravens second-round selection since 1996 (overall pick in parentheses):

2010: OLB Sergio Kindle (43), DT Terrence Cody (56)

2009: OLB Paul Kruger (57)

2008: RB Ray Rice (55)

2007: None

2006: OG

Chris Chester


2005: OLB Dan Cody (53), OT Adam Terry (64)

2004: DT Dwan Edwards (51)

2003: None

2002: DE Anthony Weaver (52)

2001: CB Gary Baxter (64)

2000: None

1999: None

1998: WR Patrick Johnson (42)

1997: OLB Jamie Sharper (34), S Kim Herring (58)

1996: CB DeRon Jenkins (55)