There’s no doubt about the correct ruling. The umpire, even though he was standing foul territory behind third, is considered part of the field so any ball that hits him remains in play. The loss of the base may have cost the Yankees a run, since
Of course, you can’t assume any of that would have happened, but that’s not the most interesting thing about the incident. Meals is the umpire that called
If Teixeira had been safe, and replays appeared to show that he was, the Yankees would have tied that game in the ninth inning.