All-Howard County: Boys track

PERFORMER OF THE YEAR: Joey Thompson, Howard

He wrapped up his careerat Howard with anotherspectacular season. Thompsonwon the 1,600 (4 minutes,18.66 seconds) at thecounty meet with a stronglate move against Atholton'sGraham Bazell. He finishedsecond in the 3,200 to Bazellat that meet as well as at thestatemeet. At states, Thompsonnearly caught Bazellwith a furious finishing kickon the final lap, going in anoutright sprint after runningnearly two miles, an effortthat turned heads eventhough he came up short.

Thompson was impressivein taking the 1,600 at theClass 2A state meet in4:20.74, edging Bazell. Thebattles Thompson had withBazell were some of thearea's best over the past twoyears.

COACHES OF THE YEAR: Matt Gitterman and Tony Bell, Mount Hebron

The Vikings turned thingsaround in one year. They finishedeighth at last year'scounty championship meetand weren't much of athreat. But Gitterman andBell came up with ways forMount Hebron to scorepoints in various places,which played a big role in theVikings' winning the countytitle this year.

They continued to find successafter that by taking secondin the Class 2A South regionalmeet. Jackson Jordanand Zach Weinstein helpedlead the way, but the Vikingshave become a more well-roundedteam and have laidthe foundation for the future.

The team

Name School CL

Graham Bazell Atholton Jr.

Adam Davis River Hill Jr.

Nate Gant Hammond Jr.

John Henderson Wilde Lake Sr.

Jackson Jordan Mount Hebron Jr.

Phillip Moorehead Hammond Sr.

Craig Morgan River Hill Jr.

Connor Pencek Glenelg Jr.

Marques Pratt Wilde Lake Sr.

Jake Robbins Centennial Sr.

Brian Severson Wilde Lake Sr.

Alvin Thomas Long Reach Sr.

Joey Thompson Howard Sr.

Obi Ukwama Long Reach Sr.

Zach Weinstein Mount Hebron Jr.

Note: Team selected by Jeff Seidel after consultation with The Sun staff and area coaches.

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World