No. 17: Defense! Defense!

Since becoming coach, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT00008918" title="John Harbaugh" href="/topic/sports/football/john-harbaugh-PESPT00008918.topic">John Harbaugh</a> has beefed up the Ravens' offense, some would argue at the expense of the defense. Halfway through this season, it really showed: The once-celebrated Ravens D was getting run all over. Then they started to step up, thanks in no small part to defensive coordinator Dean Pees. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008622" title="Terrell Suggs" href="/topic/sports/football/terrell-suggs-PESPT000008622.topic">Terrell Suggs</a> came back, followed a few weeks later by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008514" title="Ray Lewis" href="/topic/sports/football/ray-lewis-PESPT008514.topic">Ray Lewis</a>. They've come alive in the post-season. Colts quarterback <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009016" title="Andrew Luck" href="/topic/sports/football/andrew-luck-PESPT000009016.topic">Andrew Luck</a> didn't know what hit him, and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT004609" title="Peyton Manning" href="/topic/sports/football/peyton-manning-PESPT004609.topic">Peyton Manning</a> was picked off twice. Next up: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000789" title="Tom Brady" href="/topic/sports/football/tom-brady-PESPT000789.topic">Tom Brady</a>.

( Gene Sweeney Jr., Baltimore Sun photo )

Since becoming coach, John Harbaugh has beefed up the Ravens' offense, some would argue at the expense of the defense. Halfway through this season, it really showed: The once-celebrated Ravens D was getting run all over. Then they started to step up, thanks in no small part to defensive coordinator Dean Pees. Terrell Suggs came back, followed a few weeks later by Ray Lewis. They've come alive in the post-season. Colts quarterback Andrew Luck didn't know what hit him, and Peyton Manning was picked off twice. Next up: Tom Brady.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook