Inside the PD: Motley obvious pick for POY, but boys chooses tri-winners

Woodside’s Adrienne Motley was a slam dunk. But in what might be an unprecedented move, the Peninsula District chose Tri-Players of the Year on the boys side.
Kecoughan’s Rodney Bullock, Hampton’s Anthony Barber and Phoebus’ James Daniel III each received the same number of votes and will share Player of the Year honors. The girls’ coaches declared Motley the winner for the second consecutive year.
In something of a voting oddity, the boys’ coaches decide their Player of the Year based on who receives the most first-team votes. Bullock, Barber and Daniel were all unanimous picks, so they were  declared Tri-Players of the Year with no vote-off.
Motley and Romero were also unanimous picks, but the girls’ coaches decided Motley would be their POY.
Kecoughtan coach Ivan Thomas questioned the process.
"It's an embarrassment to our district and the outstanding players that represent one of the toughness districts in the state," he said. "This is a clear reason why coaches should stay out of voting. It should be left to the media outlets who have an opportunity to evaluate players individually in multiple settings, not coaches who only see a player twice a year and are bound by a flawed voting process."
Bullock, who has signed with Providence, has per-game averages of 22.1 points, 10 rebounds and 3 blocked  shots. Barber, the reigning Group AAA Player of the Year who is N.C. State bound, is scoring 19.5 points a game. Daniel, who has signed with Howard, is the district’s No. 2 scorer at 21.5 ppg.
The three were joined on the all-district’s first  team by Bethel’s Rakeen Brown and the Crabbers’ Jordan Baker. Barber and Bullock made the first team for the third year in a row.
Motley, the Co-Player of the Year in Group AAA as a junior, also made the PD’s first team for the third consecutive season. She is the leading scorer in the Eastern Region at 25.6 points a  game.
Motley was joined on the first team by Kecoughtan’s Chelsey Romero, Hampton’s Khadijah Berger, Bethel’s Keli Foster, and Wolverines’ teammate Aianna Kelly.
Heritage’s Mike Gardner, whose team went from 5-17 last year to 12-8 this season, was named the boys’ Coach of the Year. Woodside’s Mike Tallon and Kecoughtan’s Kevin Williams shared for the girls.
Rodney Bullock, Kecougthan, senior; Anthony Barber, Hampton, senior James Daniel III, Phoebus, senior; Rakeen Brown, Bethel, senior; Jordan Baker, Hampton, senior
Trevor Lyons, Woodside, senior; Greg Alexander, Kecoughtan, senior; Khaaliq Fletcher, Phoebus, senior; Josh Davis, Phoebus, senior; Romello Anderson,  Heritage, sophomore
Adrienne Motley, Woodside, senior; Chelsey Romero, Kecoughtan, senior; Khadijah Berger, Hampton, junior; Aianna Kelly, Woodside, senior; Keli Foster, Bethel, junior.
Dara Pearson, Hampton, sophomore; Kaitlin Hampton, Heritage, senior; Brittany Townes, Kecoughtan, senior; Alexsis Grate, Kecoughtan, freshman; Geoquasha Brown, Hampton, senior.