'Full House' (1987-1995)

<b>Who they are:</b> Sportscaster-turned-talk-show-host Danny Tanner (Bob Saget) loses his wife in a car accident and is tasked with raising his three daughters, D.J. (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000812" title="Candace Cameron" href="/topic/entertainment/candace-cameron-PECLB000812.topic">Candace Cameron</a>), Stephanie (Jodie Sweetin) and Michelle (Mary-Kate and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003343" title="Ashley Olsen" href="/topic/entertainment/ashley-olsen-PECLB003343.topic">Ashley Olsen</a>). Danny enlists the help of his Elvis-loving brother-in-law Jesse Katsopolis (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003763" title="John Stamos" href="/topic/entertainment/john-stamos-PECLB003763.topic">John Stamos</a>) and best friend, stand-up comedian Joey Gladstone (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001159" title="Dave Coulier" href="/topic/entertainment/dave-coulier-PECLB001159.topic">Dave Coulier</a>), who move in to the Tanners' San Francisco home. While the show takes on a "Three Men and Three Babies" tone, Danny's co-anchor Rebecca (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003049" title="Lori Loughlin" href="/topic/entertainment/lori-loughlin-PECLB003049.topic">Lori Loughlin</a>) steps in to be the girls' mother figure and eventually marries Jesse and has twins with him. She and Jesse then move into the attic with their new brood. A full house, indeed.<br>
<br>
<br>
<b>What the kids like:</b> The kids like goofy neighbor Kimmy Gibbler (Andrea Barber), Uncle Joey's impressions, Michelle's "you got it dude" T-shirt-ready sayings and Uncle Jesse's endless hair neuroses. There's a memorable trip to Disney World when Michelle gets lost and becomes princess for the day too.<br>
<br>
<br>
<b>What the parents can't get enough of:</b> Each episode, while falling into some sort of familial high jinks, has a heartfelt moment coupled with some sort of lesson -- whether it be for the kids or adults. Danny's famous "dad talks" usually make a cameo whether or not his girls, or cohabitants, want to hear them. Jesse, Danny and Joey sing multiple times in the show and bring on musical guests including <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003528" title="Little Richard" href="/topic/entertainment/music/little-richard-PECLB003528.topic">Little Richard</a> and the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0004929" title="The Beach Boys" href="/topic/entertainment/music/the-beach-boys-PECLB0004929.topic">Beach Boys</a>.

( Warner Bros. )

Who they are: Sportscaster-turned-talk-show-host Danny Tanner (Bob Saget) loses his wife in a car accident and is tasked with raising his three daughters, D.J. (Candace Cameron), Stephanie (Jodie Sweetin) and Michelle (Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen). Danny enlists the help of his Elvis-loving brother-in-law Jesse Katsopolis (John Stamos) and best friend, stand-up comedian Joey Gladstone (Dave Coulier), who move in to the Tanners' San Francisco home. While the show takes on a "Three Men and Three Babies" tone, Danny's co-anchor Rebecca (Lori Loughlin) steps in to be the girls' mother figure and eventually marries Jesse and has twins with him. She and Jesse then move into the attic with their new brood. A full house, indeed.


What the kids like: The kids like goofy neighbor Kimmy Gibbler (Andrea Barber), Uncle Joey's impressions, Michelle's "you got it dude" T-shirt-ready sayings and Uncle Jesse's endless hair neuroses. There's a memorable trip to Disney World when Michelle gets lost and becomes princess for the day too.


What the parents can't get enough of: Each episode, while falling into some sort of familial high jinks, has a heartfelt moment coupled with some sort of lesson -- whether it be for the kids or adults. Danny's famous "dad talks" usually make a cameo whether or not his girls, or cohabitants, want to hear them. Jesse, Danny and Joey sing multiple times in the show and bring on musical guests including Little Richard and the Beach Boys.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook