'Annie Hall' (1977)

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB004228" title="Woody Allen" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/woody-allen-PECLB004228.topic">Woody Allen</a>'s scrumptious, bittersweet romantic comedy is the last of the genre to win the best picture honors, receiving <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST000005" title="Academy Awards" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/academy-awards-EVHST000005.topic">Oscars</a> for best film, director, screenplay and actress ( <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002720" title="Diane Keaton" href="/topic/entertainment/diane-keaton-PECLB002720.topic">Diane Keaton</a>). Oscar, though, has been very, very good to Allen. He earned a screenplay award for 1986's "Hannah and Her Sisters," and several performers have won Oscars for their work in his films, including <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB000803" title="Michael Caine" href="/topic/entertainment/michael-caine-PECLB000803.topic">Michael Caine</a> for supporting actor in "Hannah and Her Sisters," <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003962" title="Dianne Wiest" href="/topic/entertainment/dianne-wiest-PECLB003962.topic">Dianne Wiest</a> for supporting actress in "Hannah" and 1994's "Bullets Over Broadway," and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003742" title="Mira Sorvino" href="/topic/entertainment/mira-sorvino-PECLB003742.topic">Mira Sorvino</a> for 1995's "The Mighty Aphrodite."

( Los Angeles Times )

Woody Allen's scrumptious, bittersweet romantic comedy is the last of the genre to win the best picture honors, receiving Oscars for best film, director, screenplay and actress ( Diane Keaton). Oscar, though, has been very, very good to Allen. He earned a screenplay award for 1986's "Hannah and Her Sisters," and several performers have won Oscars for their work in his films, including Michael Caine for supporting actor in "Hannah and Her Sisters," Dianne Wiest for supporting actress in "Hannah" and 1994's "Bullets Over Broadway," and Mira Sorvino for 1995's "The Mighty Aphrodite."

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Connect
Advertisement
Movie & TV Times
 

VIDEO