Terry Gilliam's films: Hits and misses

Former Monty Python member <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001934" title="Terry Gilliam" href="/topic/entertainment/terry-gilliam-PECLB001934.topic">Terry Gilliam</a> is the king of the troubled production. Sometimes he comes out on top and sometimes the movie never comes out. His behind the scenes battles with Universal Pictures over the release version of his 1985 film "Brazil" were legendary and became the basis for a nonfiction book. The film went on to gain a cult and critical following and became one of the films Gilliam rested his reputation on. His next film, "The Adventures of Baron Munchausen," did not fare as well. After cost overruns, producer and studio troubles, Gilliam's film was a rushed and unhappy affair that disappointed audiences, who stayed away in droves. Gilliam's career recovered, but he was met with disaster again in 2000, when his film "The Man Who Killed Don Quixote" was met with several on-set mishaps including the debilitating back injuries of one of his main stars (French actor <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000006694" title="Jean Rochefort" href="/topic/entertainment/jean-rochefort-PECLB0000006694.topic">Jean Rochefort</a>). The film was eventually abandoned mid-shoot. Gilliam then embarked on <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ENMV000005050" title="The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus (movie)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/the-imaginarium-of-doctor-parnassus-%28movie%29-ENMV000005050.topic">"The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus"</a> starring <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002980" title="Heath Ledger" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/heath-ledger-PECLB002980.topic">Heath Ledger</a>, who died before principal photography was finished. Luckily, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB002952" title="Jude Law" href="/topic/entertainment/jude-law-PECLB002952.topic">Jude Law</a>, Colin Ferrell and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001381" title="Johnny Depp" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/johnny-depp-PECLB001381.topic">Johnny Depp</a> stepped in to assist Gilliam in completing the film, which earned two Academy Award nominations.

( Genaro Molina / Los Angeles Times )

Former Monty Python member Terry Gilliam is the king of the troubled production. Sometimes he comes out on top and sometimes the movie never comes out. His behind the scenes battles with Universal Pictures over the release version of his 1985 film "Brazil" were legendary and became the basis for a nonfiction book. The film went on to gain a cult and critical following and became one of the films Gilliam rested his reputation on. His next film, "The Adventures of Baron Munchausen," did not fare as well. After cost overruns, producer and studio troubles, Gilliam's film was a rushed and unhappy affair that disappointed audiences, who stayed away in droves. Gilliam's career recovered, but he was met with disaster again in 2000, when his film "The Man Who Killed Don Quixote" was met with several on-set mishaps including the debilitating back injuries of one of his main stars (French actor Jean Rochefort). The film was eventually abandoned mid-shoot. Gilliam then embarked on "The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus" starring Heath Ledger, who died before principal photography was finished. Luckily, Jude Law, Colin Ferrell and Johnny Depp stepped in to assist Gilliam in completing the film, which earned two Academy Award nominations.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Connect
Advertisement
Movie & TV Times
 

VIDEO