Katie Holmes

<i>By Elizabeth Snead, Los Angeles Times Staff Writer</i><br>
<br>
Nerdy eyeglasses are very much in vogue, as evidenced by <a href="http://topics.latimes.com/entertainment/people/katie-holmes"><b> <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB002422" title="Katie Holmes" href="/topic/entertainment/katie-holmes-PECLB002422.topic">Katie Holmes</a>'</b></a> new trend-setting black horn rims, recently seen perched on her petite nose for one of her well-paparazzied walks to work in New York.<br>
<br>
Given that Mrs. Cruise wants to be seen as a "serious" actress (she's starring on Broadway in a revival of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" hpc503" title="Arthur Miller" href="/topic/entertainment/arthur-miller-hpc503.topic">Arthur Miller</a>'s "All My Sons" Oct. 16-Jan. 11), it's not surprising that she's adopted the instant IQ accessory.<br>
<br>
If there's one assumption made about people who wear nerdy glasses, it's that they're way brainer-than-thou. Horn rims practically scream Mensa member. (That's the organization for people with higher-than-average IQs.) Although round geek eyeglasses can also signal that you're a member of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PEFCC000028" title="Harry Potter (fictional character)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/harry-potter-%28fictional-character%29-PEFCC000028.topic">Harry Potter</a>'s fan club. Mensa or Potter, either way, you're a bigtime reader.<br>
<br>
Check out the gallery to see some stars -- <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB000540" title="Cate Blanchett" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/cate-blanchett-PECLB000540.topic">Cate Blanchett</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB002788" title="Nicole Kidman" href="/topic/entertainment/nicole-kidman-PECLB002788.topic">Nicole Kidman</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001874" title="Jennifer Garner" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/jennifer-garner-PECLB001874.topic">Jennifer Garner</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB003664" title="Chloe Sevigny" href="/topic/entertainment/chloe-sevigny-PECLB003664.topic">Chloe Sevigny</a>, Natascha McElhone, Molly Sims, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001672" title="Tina Fey" href="/topic/entertainment/tina-fey-PECLB001672.topic">Tina Fey</a>, Felicity Huffman, Amy Smart --  who've joined the fashionable faux Hollywood intelligentsia. Vote on who has geek chic, or who might be better off with contacts.<br>
<br>
We've also included some celebrity wiseguys -- <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001381" title="Johnny Depp" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/johnny-depp-PECLB001381.topic">Johnny Depp</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001153" title="Elvis Costello" href="/topic/entertainment/music/elvis-costello-PECLB001153.topic">Elvis Costello</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001916" title="Paul Giamatti" href="/topic/entertainment/paul-giamatti-PECLB001916.topic">Paul Giamatti</a>, directors <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB004228" title="Woody Allen" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/woody-allen-PECLB004228.topic">Woody Allen</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PESPT008473" title="Kevin Smith" href="/topic/sports/football/kevin-smith-PESPT008473.topic">Kevin Smith</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB003751" title="Steven Spielberg" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/steven-spielberg-PECLB003751.topic">Steven Spielberg</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB004197" title="Martin Scorsese" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/martin-scorsese-PECLB004197.topic">Martin Scorsese</a> -- who made nerd eyewear their signature style.<br>
<br>
Hey, maybe these guys really are smart.

( Getty Images )

By Elizabeth Snead, Los Angeles Times Staff Writer

Nerdy eyeglasses are very much in vogue, as evidenced by Katie Holmes' new trend-setting black horn rims, recently seen perched on her petite nose for one of her well-paparazzied walks to work in New York.

Given that Mrs. Cruise wants to be seen as a "serious" actress (she's starring on Broadway in a revival of Arthur Miller's "All My Sons" Oct. 16-Jan. 11), it's not surprising that she's adopted the instant IQ accessory.

If there's one assumption made about people who wear nerdy glasses, it's that they're way brainer-than-thou. Horn rims practically scream Mensa member. (That's the organization for people with higher-than-average IQs.) Although round geek eyeglasses can also signal that you're a member of Harry Potter's fan club. Mensa or Potter, either way, you're a bigtime reader.

Check out the gallery to see some stars -- Cate Blanchett, Nicole Kidman, Jennifer Garner, Chloe Sevigny, Natascha McElhone, Molly Sims, Tina Fey, Felicity Huffman, Amy Smart -- who've joined the fashionable faux Hollywood intelligentsia. Vote on who has geek chic, or who might be better off with contacts.

We've also included some celebrity wiseguys -- Johnny Depp, Elvis Costello, Paul Giamatti, directors Woody Allen, Kevin Smith, Steven Spielberg and Martin Scorsese -- who made nerd eyewear their signature style.

Hey, maybe these guys really are smart.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Connect
Advertisement
Movie & TV Times
 

VIDEO