Shirley Booth, Cooper Named Oscar Winners!

Shirley BoothJohn FordGary CooperAnthony QuinnStanley Kramer

From The Times: March 20, 1953

Cecil B. De Mille, veteran Hollywood showman, last night became a prime honoree of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for his 70th film, which he made at the age of 70.

His production, "The Greatest Show on Earth," was voted the best picture by the members of the organization, which celebrated its 25th anniversary in a new transcontinental manner with the aid of television. The function here attracted a superbrilliant audience at Pantages Hollywood Theater.

Besides his Oscar for the best picture, De Mille receieved the Irving Thalberg Memorial Award, presented by Darryl F. Zanuck, past winner.

Gary Cooper was acclaimed as the best actor of 1952 for his performance in the Stanley Kramer-United Artists production "High Noon," while Shirley Booth triumphed as the best actress for her portrayal in "Come Back, Little Sheba," a Hal Wallis production for Paramount Pictures, Inc.

Director Honored

In the supporting player class, Anthony Quinn received the top accolade for his work in "Viva, Zapata!" which was made by 20th Century-Fox, and Gloria Grahame for "The Bad and the Beautiful," Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer, while John Ford was hailed as the best director for the Argosy-Republic release "The Quiet Man."

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times