Carl Pavano - New Britain

Starting pitcher Carl Pavano first made headlines as part of the package of prospects that the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000005" title="Boston Red Sox" href="/topic/sports/baseball/boston-red-sox-ORSPT000005.topic">Boston Red Sox</a> traded to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000018" title="Montreal Expos" href="/topic/sports/baseball/montreal-expos-ORSPT000018.topic">Montreal Expos</a> for perrenial All-Star <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008506" title="Pedro Martinez" href="/topic/sports/pedro-martinez-PESPT008506.topic">Pedro Martinez</a> in November 1997. Pavano played for the Expos until 2002, when he was traded to the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000174" title="Miami Marlins" href="/topic/sports/baseball/miami-marlins-ORSPT000174.topic">Florida Marlins</a> mid-season. He helped the Marlins win the 2003 World Series against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000205" title="New York Yankees" href="/topic/sports/baseball/new-york-yankees-ORSPT000205.topic">New York Yankees</a>, pitching in Game 4, which the Marlins won. After the 2004 season, when he posted career-bests in wins (18), ERA (3.00) and strikeouts (139), Pavano signed with the Yankees. His time there was tumultuous at best, as frequent injuries limited him to just 26 games over the four-year span of his contract and kept him out of the entire 2006 season. This year, Pavano, who finally appears healthy again, is a starter for the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000009" title="Cleveland Indians" href="/topic/sports/baseball/cleveland-indians-ORSPT000009.topic">Cleveland Indians</a>. Pavano went to Southington High School.

( TONY DEJAK / ASSOCIATED PRESS / June 15, 2009 )

Starting pitcher Carl Pavano first made headlines as part of the package of prospects that the Boston Red Sox traded to the Montreal Expos for perrenial All-Star Pedro Martinez in November 1997. Pavano played for the Expos until 2002, when he was traded to the Florida Marlins mid-season. He helped the Marlins win the 2003 World Series against the New York Yankees, pitching in Game 4, which the Marlins won. After the 2004 season, when he posted career-bests in wins (18), ERA (3.00) and strikeouts (139), Pavano signed with the Yankees. His time there was tumultuous at best, as frequent injuries limited him to just 26 games over the four-year span of his contract and kept him out of the entire 2006 season. This year, Pavano, who finally appears healthy again, is a starter for the Cleveland Indians. Pavano went to Southington High School.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Advertisement