Red Auerbach, Bill Russell and John Havlicek

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000094" title="Boston Celtics" href="/topic/sports/basketball/boston-celtics-ORSPT000094.topic">Boston Celtics</a> general manager <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST000101" title="Red Auerbach" href="/topic/arts-culture/red-auerbach-PEHST000101.topic">Red Auerbach</a> hugs the stars of the Celtics <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="15008001" title="National Basketball Association" href="/topic/sports/basketball/national-basketball-association-15008001.topic">NBA</a> Championship win over the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000104" title="Los Angeles Lakers" href="/topic/sports/basketball/los-angeles-lakers-ORSPT000104.topic">Los Angeles Lakers</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST001744" title="Bill Russell" href="/topic/arts-culture/bill-russell-PEHST001744.topic">Bill Russell</a>, left, and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT003066" title="John Havlicek" href="/topic/sports/john-havlicek-PESPT003066.topic">John Havlicek</a>, right, in Los Angeles, in a May 3, 1968, photo. Auerbach, who coached the Boston Celtics to nine championships in the 1950s and 1960s, died in 2006.

( ASSOCIATED PRESS / May 3, 1968 )

Boston Celtics general manager Red Auerbach hugs the stars of the Celtics NBA Championship win over the Los Angeles Lakers, Bill Russell, left, and John Havlicek, right, in Los Angeles, in a May 3, 1968, photo. Auerbach, who coached the Boston Celtics to nine championships in the 1950s and 1960s, died in 2006.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Advertisement