Former King Luc Robitaille Elected to Hall of Fame

SportsField HockeyDetroit Red WingsLuc RobitailleNational Hockey LeagueSt. Louis BluesBrett Hull

Steve Yzerman, Brett Hull, Luc Robitaille and Brian Leetch aregoing into the Hockey Hall of Fame.

The selection committee announced on a conference call Tuesdayit had elected the maximum four players this year. All wereeligible for the first time.

Yzerman retired in the summer of 2006 with the sixth-highestpoint total in NHL history. The longtime Detroit Red Wings captainwon the Stanley Cup three times and a gold medal with Canada in the2002 Olympics.

Hull's 741 goals rank third all-time, Robitaille's 668 are themost by a left wing and Leetch is one of just five defensemen tohave a 100-point season.

A player must be retired for three seasons before becomingeligible to enter the Hall. The induction ceremony will be Nov. 9.

New Jersey Devils president Lou Lamoriello was also elected inthe builder category.

Yzerman, Hull and Robitaille won a Stanley Cup together with theDetroit Red Wings in 2002.

Hull retired in 2005 after a 19-year career with the CalgaryFlames, St. Louis Blues, Dallas Stars, Red Wings and PhoenixCoyotes. He scored 86 goals in 1991 and received the Hart Trophy asleague MVP.

His 741 goals trail only Wayne Gretzky and Gordie Howe. His 24career playoff game-winning goals are tied with Gretzky for themost in NHL history. He scored the Stanley Cup-winning goal for theStars in the third overtime of Game 6 of the 1999 finals.

He's now the Stars' executive vice president.

Leetch became the first American-born player to earn the ConnSmythe Trophy after leading the New York Rangers to the Stanley Cupin 1994. He also twice won the Norris Trophy as the league's topdefenseman.

Robitaille received the Calder Trophy as the league's top rookiein 1987.

At least 14 of the Hall's 18-member selection committee mustvote for a player for him to be elected.

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times