Sign up for the Essential California newsletter to get great stories delivered to your inbox

Lakers win championship

With new head coach Pat Riley guiding them, the Los Angeles Lakers defeated the Philadelphia 76s in six games to claim the NBA championship on June 8, 1982. Magic Johnson was named series MVP. Above, Johnson looks for an out over the defense of Philadelphia 76ers Julius Erving and Maurice... Associated Press