1994: Shimon Peres, Yasser Arafat, Yitzhak Rabin

Israeli Foreign Minister Shimon Peres, Palestinian Liberation Organization leader Yasser Arafat and Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin were cited for their efforts to create peace in the Middle East, specifically their 1993 Oslo peace accords. The award recognized Arafat's political courage in accepting Israel's existence and legitimacy, and it noted Rabin's recognition, in return, of the Palestinians' aspirations for self-determination and the right to govern themselves.
Associated Press
Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World