The 'hand of God': Diego Maradona

The scene was the quarterfinals of the 1986 FIFA World Cup, between Argentina and England. Legendary player Diego Maradona was accused of using his hand to score a goal (a no-no in soccer.) The referee didn't see it, and allowed the goal to stand. The move earned a nickname after Maradona said he scored in part with "the hand of God."

( Allsport / January 16, 2013 )

The scene was the quarterfinals of the 1986 FIFA World Cup, between Argentina and England. Legendary player Diego Maradona was accused of using his hand to score a goal (a no-no in soccer.) The referee didn't see it, and allowed the goal to stand. The move earned a nickname after Maradona said he scored in part with "the hand of God."

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Connect
Advertisement
Your Hosts

 

As an editor and reporter, Michael Muskal has covered local, national, economic and foreign issues at three newspapers, including the Los Angeles Times. @latimesmuskal

 

Matt Pearce, a University of Missouri graduate, has previously written for the Kansas City Star, the Los Angeles Review of Books, The New Inquiry and The Pitch. @mattdpearce


VIDEO