Russett finishes Prince-Mont season undefeated

After a 2010 season where they did not finish at the top of their division, Russett found its path back to the peak July 16 after finishing the regular season of the Prince-Mont Swim League undefeated, just as they did in 2008 and 2009.

West Arundel was the only other local team to win in the final weekend, while Silver Spring, Montpelier, Laurel City, and West Laurel all suffered bitter defeats.

In the final regular-season meet, the Russett Sharks defeated host Fort Washington, 305.5-269.5, to finish the season a perfect 5-0 in Division D.

Triple winners for the Sharks were Lauren Ritter, girls 11-12, 50 fly, 50 back, 100 individual medley; Allison Ritter, girls 9-10, 50 free, 25 breast, 25 back; Everett Butler, boys 13-14, 50 fly, 50 free, 50 back; and Taylor Hicks, girls 15-18, 50 fly, 50 breast, 100 IM.

Hicks completed the regular season with a perfect record herself. She won all 15 of her individual races this season and was a triple winner in all five weeks for Russett.

The Sharks also had several team records fall in the final weekend. Dominic Kazzi set a new team record in the boys 8-and-under 25-meter breaststroke with a time of 27.31.

Russett's mixed 8-and-under 100-meter free relay team of Erin Devine, Tomisin Sobande, Aaban Syed and Imaad Syed set a team record with a time of 1:37.70; the boys 9-18 200-meter freestyle relay team of Madewa Adeyemo, Chris Marx, Everett Butler and Alex Cartron set a team record with a time of 2:20.12; and the girls 9-18 200-meter freestyle relay team of Allison Ritter, Simone DeSouza, Paris Hicks and Taylor Hicks set a new team record with a time of 2:14.75.

The West Arundel Aqua Ducks finished the season with a win by downing the Neptunes of Northridge Swim Team at home, 318-260, in Division C action. West Arundel finishes the regular season with a winning record of 3-2.

Kellianne Venit set records in all three wins while being a triple winner for the Aqua Ducks (girls 15-18 breast in 35.17, back in 30.92, IM in 1:07.10). Other triple winners were Michael Venit, boys U-8, free, breast, back; Micah Norsworthy, boys 9-10, fly, free, breast; Colette Pierce, girls 11-12, free, breast, IM; Jay Venit, boys 11-12, free, breast, back; and Ryan Webb, boys 13-14, fly, back, IM.

Double winners were Olivia Clark, girls U-8 breast, back; Ally Webb, girls 11-12 fly, back; Jason Schneck, boys 11-12 fly, IM; Andrea Sturgis, girls 13-14 fly, IM; Peter Moyer, boys 13-14 free, breast; and Andria Moyer, girls 15-18 fly, free.

The girls 200-yard medley relay team of Danielle Villeneue, Colette Pierce, Andria Moyer and Ally McMahon set a new team record for West Arundel with a time of 2:15.40.

The Montpelier Community Association finished its season 1-4 in Division C, losing in the final weekend at Kingfish Swim Club, 323-246.

Triple winners for Montpelier were Trey Beam, boys U-8, free, breast, back; and Thomas Brown de Colstoun, boys 11-12, fly, free, IM. Double winners were Suzannah Mills, girls 11-12, back, IM; Dylan Buehler, boys 13-14, breast, IM; and Matt Derrick, boys 15-18, fly, free.

In Division A action, Silver Spring Swim Team lost at Belair Bath and Tennis Club, of Bowie, 295-272.

Triple winners were Jaimy Wenhold, girls 11-12, fly, breast, IM; Erin Kane, girls 13-14, fly, free, back; and Nancy Schwartz, girls 15-18, 50 fly, breast, back.

Double winners for Silver Spring were Anna Salazar, girls 9-10, fly, breast; Richard Do, boys 11-12, fly, IM; Joshua Oruya, boys 15-18, fly, free; Chase Pisone, boys 9-10, free, back; Madison Oehler, girls 11-12, free, back; and Marin Oehler, girls U-8, breast, back.

Laurel City finished the year at 3-2 after losing at home to Prince George's Pool, of Mount Rainier, 299-259, to close out their regular season in Division F.

Triple winners for Laurel were Eanna Hehir-Keys, girls 11-12, fly, breast, IM; and Jesse Rocco, girls 13-14, fly, free, IM, while Matthew Whelan, boys 11-12, 50 fly, free; and Michael Thomas, boys 9-10, free, breast were double winners.

Despite a close loss in the final week, 297-278, to Adelphi Recreation, West Laurel finished the regular season at 2-3, their best record since finishing 3-2 in 2007.

Benjamin Dotson, boys 9-10, fly, free, back; Eric Brothman, boys 15-18, fly, back, IM; and Caitlin Raynor, girls 15-18, fly, breast, back were triple winners for the Wahoos. Olivia Petrusky, girls 13-14, fly, free; Sam Mudd, boys 13-14, free, breast; and Katie Ruiz, girls 13-14, back, IM were double winners.

For more results from the July 16 meets, go to

The Prince-Mont regular season is over but Divisionals will be held July 23. Silver Spring will compete in Division A at Strathmore Bel Pre (Silver Spring), West Laurel will compete in Division B at Whitehall Pool and Tennis Club (Bowie), West Arundel will compete in Division C at Montpelier, Russett will compete for Division D at New Carrollton Recreation and Laurel City will compete in Division F at Prince George's Pool.

Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World