KY3 TV

TelevisionVehiclesPublic EmployeesMedia IndustryEntertainmentPhotographyTelevision Industry

999 West Sunshine

P.O. Box 3500

Springfield, MO 65807

Phone 417-268-3000

Fax 417-868-3895

KY3.com

The Station

Founded: KYTV signed on the air on October 1, 1953 at 4:47 P.M., concluding the broadcast day at 10:30 P.M. and has been an industry leader from the outset. Schurz Communications, Inc. purchased KYTV in 1987.

Distinction: KYTV brought The Ozark Jubilee starring Red Foley to the air in 1953. This was a live country and western program and aired on ABC for 6 years and was later offered in syndication. The name was changed to Jubilee USA in 1955 and in 1961 was changed to Five Star Jubilee. The Five Star Jubilee was the first color program broadcast to originate outside New York or Hollywood and was aired to the entire nation from Springfield, MO by KYTV. The Five Star Jubilee remained on the air until 1961.

KYTV has been known for innovations from the beginning. Remote gear was purchased in 1954, with the first remote broadcast being from the Ozark Empire Fair. Other remote broadcasts featured bowling teams, Springfield Christmas parades and many sporting events. Beginning in 1986, KYTV News made "Celebrate the Ozarks" trips to bring the 6 P.M. and 10 P.M. newscasts to our viewers from points throughout our broadcast area.

KYTV purchased one of the nation's first mobile video tape units in March 1959, allowing us to travel throughout our viewing area to bring taped programming to the Ozarks from our own backyard. We produced Harold Bell Wright's well known and beloved "Shepherd of The Hills" on location at the Shepherd of The Hills Farm in Branson, MO and were awarded the TV-Radio Mirror award for most original program in the Midwest for the production.

An SNG (satellite news gathering) truck was purchased in 1986 and in 1989 our production truck, Studio 3, was added. Studio 3 is a literal television studio on wheels and is used for remote broadcasts, sporting events and remote production. The truck is frequently hired by major networks, including ESPN, Fox Sports, Sports Channel and Prime Sports.

The KYTV transmitting tower erected at Fordland, MO in 1961 was originally 1906 feet tall, missing being the tallest structure on earth by 61 feet. Later construction on the tower increased its height to 2000 feet. Three St. Louis Gateway Arches stacked on top of each other would still be 110 feet shorter. We have just recently completed the construction of our new transmitting tower at Fordland for Digital Television. This tower is also 2000 feet tall.

The original KY3 facilities built in 1953 were added to six times before being razed in September 1997. At that time, KYTV moved into its current building located immediately behind the site of the original building. The new building is 34,000 square feet, contains 45 miles of video, audio, phone and computer wire and was built at a cost of $7.5 million.

KYTV currently produces 22 hours of news a week. News specials are also produced periodically along with special programming of community interest being produced by the news department. Viewers recognize the strength of KY3 News in all news programs, making us #1 with all newscasts according to Nielsen, the national ratings service.

Coverage Area: KY3 is an NBC affiliate serving 32 counties in southwest Missouri and northern Arkansas.

Population: Springfield has a population of 156,192 and the population within a 40-mile radius of Springfield is 564,429.

Awards: KY3 news has been honored for an unprecedented four consecutive years with the Regional Edward R. Murrow Overall Excellence Award for outstanding news coverage. This spring, KYTV set an awards record locally, receiving 11 Addys from the Springfield Advertising Association.

Market: Located in the heart of the Ozarks, Springfield is a recreational center. Bass Pro Shops, currently the largest tourism attraction in the region, is located in Springfield. Wonders of Wildlife (American National Fish and Wildlife Museum) set to open here this fall is expected to be the biggest tourist attraction in the State of Missouri.

Key Executives:Michael Scott is President and General Manager; Mary Chalendar is Director of Sales; Scott Brady is News Director; Tom McKleroy, Chief Engineer; Angela Moyle, Business Manager.

Online Publications: www.KY3.com

KYTV (KY3)

Springfield, Missouri

417-268-3000

KYTV Departmental Email

Sales Department

sales@ky3.com

News Department

ky3news@ky3.com

Generic KY3

ky3@ky3.com

Reception Desk

operator@ky3.com

Administration

Brian McDonough, General Manager

 bmcdonough@ky3.com 

Janet Furneaux, Executive Assistant

jfurneaux@ky3.com

Business Office

Angela Moyle, Business Manager

amoyle@ky3.com

Michelle Briggs, Accounts Receivable Coordinator

mbriggs@ky3.com

Beth Keeling, Human Resources

bkeeling@ky3.com

Tonya Gomas, Senior Accountant

tgomas@ky3.com

Engineering

Kirk Lemons, Chief Engineer

klemons@ky3.com

Chris Myers, Network Administrator

cmyers@ky3.com

News

Jim Van Dillen, Chief Photographer

jvandillen@ky3.com

Brandon Beck

5:00-7AM & Noon Meteorologist

bbeck@ky3.com

Curtis Hancock, Executive Producer

chancock@ky3.com

Paula Dowler, Director News Operations and 5pm Producer

pdowler@ky3.com

Mike Coonrod, Photographer

mcoonrod@ky3.com

James Holmes, Ozarks Today Producer

jholmes@ky3.com

Steve Grant, Noon and 6pm Anchor

sgrant@ky3.com

Jim Hankins, Satellite Truck Operator

jhankins@ky3.com

Ethan Forhetz, 5pm and 10pm Anchor

eforhetz@ky3.com

Gene Hartley, On-Line Producer

ghartley@ky3.com

Ron Hearst

5, 6 & 10 PM Meteorologist

rhearst@ky3.com

Joe Hickman, Weekend Sports

jhickman@ky3.com

Dave Snider, Weekend Meteorologist

dsnider@ky3.com

Tim Leimkuhler, Photographer

tleimkuhler@ky3.com

Jerrod McCully, Asst. Chief Photographer

jmccully@ky3.com

Brett Onstott, Noon Producer

bonstott@ky3.com

Doug Owen, News Assignment Editor

dowen@ky3.com

Paul Adler, Ozarks Today Anchor

padler@ky3.com

Ned Reynolds, Sports Director/Anchor

nreynolds@ky3.com

Lisa Rose, 6 & 10 PM Anchor

lrose@ky3.com

Justin Haase, Photographer

jhaase@ky3.com

Maria Neider, Ozarks Today Anchor

mneider@ky3.com

Chris Repogle, 6pm Producer

crepogle@ky3.com

Cara Restelli, Consumer Reporter

crestelli@ky3.com

Abby Wuellner, Reporter

awuellner@ky3.com

Chad Plein, Weekend Anchor

cplein@ky3.com

Paula Morehouse, Weeknd Anchor

pmorehouse@ky3.com

Marie Saavedra, 5pm Anchor

msaavedra@ky3.com

Sara Forhetz, Reporter

sforhetz@ky3.com

Pat Shehan, Ozarks Today Producer

pshehan@ky3.com

Brian Vandenburg, 10pm Producer

bvandenburg@ky3.com

John Kelly, Photojournalist

jkelly@ky3.com

Cliff Erwin, Photojournalist

cerwin@ky3.com

Taka Yokoyama, Photojournalist

tyokoyama@ky3.com

Tom Schultheis, Photojournalist

tschulteis@ky3.com

Production

Kevin McNally, Operations Manager

kmcnally@ky3.com

Robert Wallace, On-Air Director

rwallace@ky3.com

Programming

Trenna Underhill, Program Coordinator

tunderhill@ky3.com

Promotions & Public Affairs

Dan McGrane, Manager

dmcgrane@ky3.com

John Stinson, Promotions Producer

jstinson@ky3.com

Sales

Mary Chalender, Director of Sales

mchalender@ky3.com

Jo Hall, Administrative Assistant

jhall@ky3.com

Joyce Dunn, Traffic Manager

jdunn@ky3.com

Robert Felton, KY3 Local Sales Manager

rfelton@ky3.com

Mike Freeman, Account Executive

mfreeman@ky3.com

Heather Ireland, Account Executive

hireland@ky3.com

Stephanie Clark, Account Executive

sclark@ky3.com

Mike Walsh, Account Executive

mwalsh@ky3.com

John Halley, Account Executive

jhalley@ky3.com

Mariah Inman, Traffic

minman@ky3.com

Nancy Rhea, Traffic

nrhea@ky3.com

Karl Olson, Account Executive

kolson@ky3.com

Natalie Murphy, Account Executive

nmurphy@ky3.com

Kim Hurshman,  KSPR Local Sales Manager

khurshman@ky3.com

Bill Marshall, Account Executive

bmarshall@ky3.com

Community Relations

Jamie Dopp, Community Relations Director

jdopp@ky3.com

Kent Oglesby, New Media Development Manager

koglesby@ky3.com

Brad Belote, Director of Digital Content

bbelote@ky3.com

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times
Comments
Loading