The top candidates

The 1998 Heisman Trophy invitees. From left: Michael Bishop, quarterback, Kansas State; Tim Couch, quarterback, Kentucky; Cade MCNown, quarterback, UCLA; and Ricky Williams, running back, Texas. The Heisman Trophy, awarded to college football's most outstanding player, will be given out Dec. 12 in New York. (AP Photo)
Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World