Texas A and M's Johnny Manziel has won the 78th Heisman Trophy. He beat out Kansas State's Collin Klein and Notre Dame's Manti Te'o to become the first freshman to win college football's most prestigious award.

In the final voting, Te'o came in second while and Klein was third. Manziel is the second Aggie to win the Heisman, but the first since John David Crow in 1957.

This season Manziel threw for 3,419 yards, 24 passing TDs, finished second in the SEC with 1,181 rushing yards and scored 19 rushing TDs. Manziel and Texas A&M will play Oklahoma in the AT&T Cotton Bowl.

Klein was the front-runner for most of the season, but his chances were hurt when the Wildcats lost to Baylor. He completed 180 of 272 passes for 2,485 yards with 15 passing touchdowns and just seven interceptions for K-State.

The Wildcats won the Big 12 for the first time since 2003 and will face Oregon in the Tostitos Fiesta Bowl on Jan. 3.

Te'o finished the regular season with 103 tackles, seven interceptions and two fumble recoveries as part of the nation's top scoring defense. The Fighting Irish will play Alabama for the national title on Jan. 7.

Each of the finalists ended the season with awards. Klein claimed the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award. Te'o won the Walter Camp Award and Maxwell Trophy as the top college player in the country. Manziel became the first freshman to win the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award.

Unlike Manziel, who has at least one more year left before he can enter the draft and will likely wait more, Te'o is expected to be a first round pick in the 2013 class. Klein is also expected to drafted in the first round.

Baylor's Robert Griffin III won the Heisman last year. He was the No. 2 pick in the 2012 NFL draft by the Washington Redskins.

Bruce recaps Heisman Trophy presentation.