No. 6: Michael Cooper vs. Utah Jazz, Game 5 second round, May 17, 1988

The setting: The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000104" title="Los Angeles Lakers" href="/topic/sports/basketball/los-angeles-lakers-ORSPT000104.topic">Lakers</a> were struggling with the upstart <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000119" title="Utah Jazz" href="/topic/sports/basketball/utah-jazz-ORSPT000119.topic">Jazz</a>, trailing by a point at the Forum when Cooper, who had not made a basket all game, hit a 17-footer with seven seconds left.<br>
<br>
The significance: Cooper’s jumper — the first game-winning shot of his career — and a <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009355" title="James Worthy" href="/topic/sports/basketball/james-worthy-PESPT000009355.topic">James Worthy</a> free throw secured a 111-109 victory, giving the Lakers a 3-2 lead. Utah beat the Lakers by 28 points in Game 6, but the Lakers prevailed in seven games and went on to win their second <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="15008001" title="National Basketball Association" href="/topic/sports/basketball/national-basketball-association-15008001.topic">NBA</a> title in a row.<br>
<br>
Pictured: <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009426" title="Michael Cooper" href="/topic/sports/basketball/michael-cooper-PESPT000009426.topic">Michael Cooper</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008504" title="Pat Riley" href="/topic/sports/basketball/pat-riley-PESPT008504.topic">Pat Riley</a> celebrate winning the title in 1982.

( Lennox McLendon, Associated Press / June 9, 1982 )

The setting: The Lakers were struggling with the upstart Jazz, trailing by a point at the Forum when Cooper, who had not made a basket all game, hit a 17-footer with seven seconds left.

The significance: Cooper’s jumper — the first game-winning shot of his career — and a James Worthy free throw secured a 111-109 victory, giving the Lakers a 3-2 lead. Utah beat the Lakers by 28 points in Game 6, but the Lakers prevailed in seven games and went on to win their second NBA title in a row.

Pictured: Michael Cooper and Pat Riley celebrate winning the title in 1982.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Connect
Advertisement

VIDEO