Kareem Statue

A who's who of basketball greatness assembles alongside the statue of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010" title="Kareem Abdul-Jabbar" href="/topic/sports/basketball/kareem-abdul-jabbar-PESPT000010.topic">Kareem Abdul-Jabbar</a> on Friday evening outside of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLREC000037101" title="Staples Center" href="/topic/sports/staples-center-PLREC000037101.topic">Staples Center</a>. If you look closely, you can spot <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000104" title="Los Angeles Lakers" href="/topic/sports/basketball/los-angeles-lakers-ORSPT000104.topic">Lakers</a> legends <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000448" title="Elgin Baylor" href="/topic/sports/basketball/elgin-baylor-PESPT000448.topic">Elgin Baylor</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT007815" title="Jerry West" href="/topic/sports/basketball/jerry-west-PESPT007815.topic">Jerry West</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009355" title="James Worthy" href="/topic/sports/basketball/james-worthy-PESPT000009355.topic">James Worthy</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PEHST001031" title="Magic Johnson" href="/topic/sports/basketball/magic-johnson-PEHST001031.topic">Magic Johnson</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001586" title="Julius Erving" href="/topic/entertainment/julius-erving-PECLB001586.topic">Julius Erving</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008504" title="Pat Riley" href="/topic/sports/basketball/pat-riley-PESPT008504.topic">Pat Riley</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009426" title="Michael Cooper" href="/topic/sports/basketball/michael-cooper-PESPT000009426.topic">Michael Cooper</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000009401" title="Kurt Rambis" href="/topic/sports/basketball/kurt-rambis-PESPT000009401.topic">Kurt Rambis</a> and non-Laker Bill Walton.

( Mark J. Terrill / Associated Press / November 16, 2012 )

A who's who of basketball greatness assembles alongside the statue of Kareem Abdul-Jabbar on Friday evening outside of Staples Center. If you look closely, you can spot Lakers legends Elgin Baylor, Jerry West, James Worthy, Magic Johnson, Julius Erving, Pat Riley, Michael Cooper, Kurt Rambis and non-Laker Bill Walton.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook