No. 9: Coaching carousel

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008535" title="Urban Meyer" href="/topic/sports/football/urban-meyer-PESPT008535.topic">Urban Meyer</a>, pictured, resigned (again) as Florida coach, and this time it lasted more than 24 hours. Maryland fired <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008511" title="Ralph Friedgen" href="/topic/sports/football/ralph-friedgen-PESPT008511.topic">Ralph Friedgen</a> after he won ACC coach-of-the-year. He was replaced by <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="hpa3008" title="Randy Edsall" href="/topic/sports/football/randy-edsall-hpa3008.topic">Randy Edsall</a>, who led Maryland to a lopsided <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVSPR000092" title="Fiesta Bowl" href="/topic/sports/football/fiesta-bowl-EVSPR000092.topic">Fiesta Bowl</a> loss to Oklahoma. Michigan fired <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT006292" title="Rich Rodriguez" href="/topic/sports/rich-rodriguez-PESPT006292.topic">Rich Rodriguez</a> after three miserable years that included <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="OREDU0000001" title="National Collegiate Athletic Association" href="/topic/sports/national-collegiate-athletic-association-OREDU0000001.topic">NCAA</a> violations for exceeding practice limits. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="OREDU0000174" title="Louisiana State University" href="/topic/education/colleges-universities/louisiana-state-university-OREDU0000174.topic">LSU</a> Coach Les Miles spurned an offer to return to his alma mater. Chris Petersen rejected an overture from Stanford and will remain at Boise.

( Kim Klement, U.S. Presswire / January 1, 2011 )

Urban Meyer, pictured, resigned (again) as Florida coach, and this time it lasted more than 24 hours. Maryland fired Ralph Friedgen after he won ACC coach-of-the-year. He was replaced by Randy Edsall, who led Maryland to a lopsided Fiesta Bowl loss to Oklahoma. Michigan fired Rich Rodriguez after three miserable years that included NCAA violations for exceeding practice limits. LSU Coach Les Miles spurned an offer to return to his alma mater. Chris Petersen rejected an overture from Stanford and will remain at Boise.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Connect
Advertisement

VIDEO