HB's Ross leads South into battle

It's only a few hours away from opening kickoff of the 55th annual Brea Lions Club Orange County North/South Prep All-Star Charity Football Game, and 11 local athletes, having gone through several practice sessions since June 30, are ready to take part in their final high school game.

Kickoff is 7:15 p.m. Thursday at Orange Coast College's LeBard Stadium.

The showcase game is the longest-running All-Star prep football game in the state and third oldest nationally.

The 11 local players in the contest will suit up for the South: quarterback Kai Ross, receivers Maurice Barber and Tucker deCamp and offensive lineman Evander Warren of Huntington Beach, offensive lineman Markus Boyer, defensive lineman David Siliuta and kicker/punter Hunter Kelley of Edison, defensive backs Jacob Church and Isaiah Davis of Fountain Valley, Will Martin of Brethren Christian, and Evan Perzanowski of Ocean View.

Perzanowski, a 6-foot-7, 290-pound lineman, was added to the South roster late last week. He replaces Christian Manzano (injury) of Laguna Hills.

The South is led by Huntington Beach High Head Coach Eric Lo and members of the Huntington Beach coaching staff.

The South is led on offense by the quarterback rotation of Kai Ross and Luke Napoliatno of Corona del Mar.

Ross had a stellar ending to his Huntington Beach career. The 6-foot-3, 195-pound athlete not only engineered the Oilers to the CIF Southern Section Southwest Division playoffs, but guided them to the Southwest Division championship last December at Angel Stadium.

His spectacular play turned a tight Southwest Division title game around in what seemed like a heartbeat. Ross threw a touchdown pass and then returned two passes for scores on consecutive plays for scrimmage, all coming in a quick span with under seven minutes to play, breaking a 21-21 tie and propelling the Oilers on to an eventual 42-28 victory.

Ross was named co-Offensive Back of the Year in the Sunset League and Defensive Player of the Year on the All-CIF Southwest Division team. At the Orange County Prep All-Star Football Recognition Dinner in the spring, he was awarded the annual Orange County Prep Football Player of the Year which was selected by Southern California sportswriters.

The Cal Poly Pomona-bound Ross passed for 2,291 yards and 31 touchdowns, rushed for 810 yards and nine touchdowns and defensively intercepted seven passes, returning the final two of his Huntington Beach career for touchdowns in the Southwest Division title game win.

The South's other quarterback, Luke Napolitano, turned in a record-setting senior campaign, which was his first year starting at quarterback, during a historic 2013 season for Corona del Mar.

Napolitano, who will attend the University of San Diego, set CdM single-season school records for passing yards (2,645) and completions (197), had 25 touchdowns passes with 11 interceptions, and completed 62.3% of his passes.

He is the CdM career leader for passing yards (2,703) and completions (203).

The 6-3, 200 Napolitano was first-team All-Pacific Coast League, All-CIF-SS Southern Division, and first-team All-State (medium-sized schools).

CdM went 16-0 in 2013, a season capped by a 27-15 victory over Atherton Sacred Heart Prep in the CIF State Division III Bowl Game last December. The 2013 Sea Kings became the first football team in California to go 16-0.

Tickets for the North/South All-Star Game are $12. Game proceeds benefit Western Youth Services Inc., Orange County Youth Foundation Inc., and participating local high schools and youth groups.

Gates open at 6 p.m. Thursday.

South Roster


Quarterbacks: Kai Ross (Huntington Beach, 6-3, 195); Luke Napolitano (Corona del Mar, 6-3, 200)

Running backs: Oronde Crenshaw (Costa Mesa, 6-0, 195); Nathan Lancaster (Laguna Beach, 5-111/2, 196); Jon Rivera (Tesoro, 5-11, 205)

Wide receivers: Maurice Barber (Huntington Beach, 6-0, 175); Dominic Collins (El Toro, 6-3, 175); Quest Truxton (Newport Harbor, WR/CB, 6-0, 170); Tucker deCamp (Huntington Beach, 6-3, 190).

Linemen: Evander Warren (Huntington Beach, 6-2, 260); Drake Schwenke (Santa Margarita, 6-4, 275); Markus Boyer (Edison, 6-2 295); Giovanni Gentosi (Corona del Mar, 6-3, 240); Tyler Maxwell (San Clemente, 6-0, 303); Evan Perzanowski (Ocean View, 6-7, 290); Jake Arlotti (Mission Viejo, 6-2, 265)

Kicker/Punter: Hunter Kelley (Edison, 6-1, 187).


Linemen: Jack Bares (Tesoro, 5-11, 185); Taylor Prenovost (Santa Margarita, 6-4, 230); Cameron Perales (Laguna Hills, 6-2, 225 ); Nick Leduc (Trabuco Hills, 6-0, 210); Will Martin (Brethren Christian, 6-3, 247); David Siliuta (Edison, 6-2, 298).

Linebackers: Philip Hong (Woodbridge, 5-9, 205); Zack Holland (Mission Viejo, 6-3, 235); Sam Travis (El Toro, 5-10, 175); Matt Wood (Trabuco Hills, 6-0, 210); Hunter Braun (JSerra, 6-0, 200).

Backs: Quinton Bell (Costa Mesa, 6-3, 210); Will Blum (San Juan Hills, 6-0, 175); Valley, 6 Jacob Church (Fountain Valley, 6-1, 185); Jonathan LaBonty (Santa Margarita, 6-1, 195); Charlie Griffin (Corona del Mar, 5-11, 175); Isaiah Davis (Fountain Valley, 5-10, 175); Cory Stowell (Newport Harbor, 6-1, 185); Matt Gordon (Capistrano Valley, 5-10, 170)

Head Coach: Eric Lo (Huntington Beach). Coaching staff: Brett Brown, Kenny Villalobos, Justin Howe, Jim Houston, Greg Olquin, Diego Segura, Kaz Bilinski, Ian Dominelli, Dean Eddy, Jonnie Peeples, Turil Engleman., Eric Preszler.


North Roster


Quarterbacks: Scott Lloyd (Fullerton, 6-2, 215; Dylan Osborne (Villa Park, 5-11, 165).

Running backs: Justin Allen (Mater Dei, 5-11, 185); TJ Ashmeade (Katella, 6-3, 185); Nick Lopiccola (Servite, 5-6, 165).

Wide receivers: Adam Connette (Orange Lutheran, 5-10, 185); Dashawn Gordon (Los Alamitos, 5-9, 160); Chris Prescott (Canyon/Anaheim, 6-0, 170); Neill Pau'u (Servite, 6-4, 220).

Tight end: Tim Holt (Yorba Linda, 6-2, 205).

Linemen: Jesse Gomez (Buena Park, 6-2, 285); Michael Hayden (Los Alamitos, 6-0, 235); Cameron Henry (Canyon/Anaheim, 6-1, 245); Adrian Lomeli (La Habra, 6-2, 260); Adam O'Shea (Servite, 6-0, 240); Nathan Trent (Kennedy, 6-2, 275); Louis Vecchio (Villa Park, 6-5, 250).

Kicker/Punter: Derek Brush (Whittier Christian, 6-2, 205).


Linemen: Dillan Cazares (Yorba Linda, 6-0, 195); Kory Grange (Esperanza, 6-2, 225); Matt Hall (Fullerton, 6-3, 210); Frankie Jorquez (Western, 6-1, 198); Cole Major (Foothill, 6-0, 218); Bryan Quexel (Garden Grove, 5-7, 210).

Backs: Deryck Fletcher (Fullerton, 6-0, 180); Johnny Johnson (Mater Dei, 6-0, 182); Derrick Kendrick (Villa Park, 6-2, 210); Sione Masoe (Garden Grove, 6-0, 185); Jerry Raye (Los Alamitos, 5-8, 162); Isaiah Walton (Orange Lutheran, 5-9, 180).

Head coaches: Ed DeAvila and Gus Martinez (Fullerton). Coaching staff: Andy Emch, Mark Takkinen, Mike Lopez, David Sepulveda, Jesse Smith, Mike Takkinen, Marv Owens, Rudy Vejar, Mike McCarthy.


Twitter: @MikeSciacca

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World