Top teams featured at HB passing event

Sixteen schools will be at Huntington Beach High Saturday competing for the titles at the 2014 Huntington Beach Summer Passing Tournament and Linemen Competition.

The day's competition starts at 8:45 a.m. with pool play game action (7 on 7). The linemen's competition starts at approximately noon, Huntington Beach football Coach Eric Lo said.

"There are some really strong teams coming here," Lo said. "We have (defending) Pac-5, state and national champion St. John Bosco back again, Mission Hills who won a title down their way (CIF San Diego Section Open Division title; CIF State Southern Regional Division 1 runner-up), Santa Margarita and Orange Lutheran from the tough Trinity League, and other good teams including Tesoro, Bishop Amat and Crespi. There should be some really good competition Saturday."

Last summer, St. John Bosco won all three competitions, taking the passing tournament, linemen competition, and a hot dog eating contest. The Braves defeated Trinity League rival Santa Margarita in the 7-on-7 passing final.

St. John Bosco is led by senior Josh Rosen, who is considered the nation's top-ranked pocket passer and has committed to UCLA.

The 16 teams, each of whom will play five games, are divided into four pools for Saturday's morning competition:

Pool A: St. John Bosco, Crespi, Saugus, Tustin.

Pool B: Mission Hills, Santa Margarita, ML King, Aliso Niguel.

Pool C: Orange Lutheran, Tesoro. El Toro, San Clemente.

Pool D: Bishop Amat, Huntington Beach, Riverside Poly, Buena Park.


Pool Play

8:45 a.m.

Huntington Beach vs. Buena Park (Field 1).

Bishop Amat vs. Riverside Poly (Field 2).

St. John Bosco vs. Saugus (Field 3).

Crespi vs. Tustin (Field 4).

Mission Hills vs. ML King (Field 5).

Santa Margarita vs. Aliso Niguel (Field 6).

Orange Lutheran vs. El Toro (Field 7).

Tesoro vs. San Clemente (Field 8).

9:35 p.m.

Huntington Beach vs. Riverside Poly (Field 1).

Bishop Amat vs. Buena Park (Field 2).

St. John Bosco vs. Tustin (Field 3).

Crespi vs. Saugus (Field 4).

Mission Hills vs. Aliso Niguel (Field 5).

Santa Margarita vs. ML King (Field 6).

Orange Lutheran vs. San Clement (Field 7).

Tesoro vs. El Toro (Field 8).

10:25 p.m.

Huntington Beach vs. Bishop Amat (Field 1).

Riverside Poly vs. Buena Park (Field 2).

St. John Bosco vs. Crespi (Field 3).

Saugus vs. Tustin (Field 4).

Mission Hills vs. Santa Margarita (Field 5).

ML King vs. Aliso Niguel (Field 6).

Orange Lutheran vs. Tesoro (Field 7).

El Toro vs. San Clemente (Field 8).

Noon: Seeded-tournament play begins (all fields).

12:50 p.m.: Championship game (Field 1); Third-place game (Field 2); Fifth-place game (Field 3); Seventh-place game (Field 4); Ninth-place game (Field 5); 11th-place game (Field 6); 13th-place game (Field 7); 15th-place game (Field 8).


Twitter: @MikeSciacca

Copyright © 2017, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World