LEXINGTON — Danville High School took first place while Boyle County High School placed sixth in the Kentucky High School Speech League’s Bluegrass Regional speech tournament held Saturday at Lexington’s Lafayette High School.  

In the 35-county Bluegrass Region, Danville placed first by a wide margin, with Lexington Dunbar taking second, Lexington Lafayette landing third, Lexington Henry Clay earning fourth, Lexington Tates Creek getting fifth and Boyle County placing sixth in the team sweepstakes.

Students competed in 12 speech categories to qualify for the March 23-24 state speech tournament and for regional champion and runner-up medals. Danville qualified 36 entries for state; Boyle advanced nine.

Sarabeth Marlowe and Laurel Payne led the Speaking Admirals with dual regional championships. Marlowe placed first in broadcast announcing and dramatic interpretation, while Payne won first in poetry and storytelling.  

DHS took five additional championships: Madeline Salinas in declamation; Joe Weston in extemporaneous speaking; Drew Lane in humorous interpretation; Nate Johnson in impromptu speaking; and Andrew McKinney in original oratory. Regional runners up included Boyle’s Mollie Lafavers in dramatic interpretation and Danville’s Taylor Hesselbach in broadcast announcing, Emma Jackson in declamation, Jack Graham in humorous interpretation, Nate Johnson in original oratory, Isabelle Ballard in prose, and Wright Williams in storytelling. 

 Advancing to state from Boyle County are Cassidy Wheeler and Jacob Gadberry in broadcast announcing; Mollie Lafavers and Kaylee Johnson in dramatic interpretation; Talha Muhammad and Carter Grimes in extemporaneous speaking; Katie Followell and Alex Draut in prose; and Sydney Johnson in storytelling.

Advancing to state from Danville are Taylor Hesselbach, Marc Manheim and Sarabeth Marlowe in broadcast announcing; Sue Cook, Emma Jackson and Madeline Salinas in declamation; Drew Lane, Sarabeth Marlowe and Kolton Winfield in dramatic interpretation; Isabelle Ballard/Dylan Crow, Jack Graham/Tyler Whitehouse and Sarabeth Marlowe/John Thompson in duo interpretation; Jono Beto, Phoebe Ross and Joe Weston in extemporaneous speaking; Waylon Duff, Jack Graham and Drew Lane in humorous interpretation; Jono Beto, Nate Johnson and Joe Weston in impromptu speaking; Dylan Crow/Nate Johnson, Waylon Duff/Kolton Winfield and John Thompson/Wright Williams in improvisational duo; Nate Johnson, Andrew McKinney and Madeline Salinas in original oratory; Taylor Hesselbach, Laurel Payne and John Thompson in poetry; Isabelle Ballard, Dylan Crow and Sam Nelson in prose; and Waylon Duff, Laurel Payne and Wright Williams in storytelling.