Wilderness Trace foundation names officers

Wilderness Trace Community Foundation has named its officers for 2012.

Pete Chiericozzi will serve as chairman. Chiericozzi is also a board member for the Harrodsburg Mercer County Industrial Development Authority, chairman of St. Andrew's Catholic Church Pastoral Council, vice chairman of the Haggin Memorial Hospital board, chairman of the Mercer County Local Emergency Planning Commission, a member of the Kentucky Law Enforcement Memorial Foundation, chairman of the Leadership Council of the Kentucky Agriculture Heritage Center, chairman of the Leadership Council of the Kentucky Agriculture Heritage Center and chairman of the Leadership Council of the Kentucky Agriculture Heritage Center. Chiericozzi is a graduate of Marshall University in Huntington, W.V. Chiericozzi and his wife, Barbara, live in Mercer County.

Stephen A. Dexter, J.D., will serve as vice-chairman. He is an attorney and shareholder with the law firm of Sheehan, Barnett, Dean, Pennington, Little and Dexter P.S.C. He is a Danville native and graduated from Danville High School in 2000 before receiving his bachelor’s in government and English from Centre College in 2004.  He earned his juris doctorate at the University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law in 2008, where he was a member of the Brandeis Law Journal. His primary areas of practice include real estate, estate planning, probate and bankruptcy. Dexter and his wife, Stacey, live in Danville.

James Bushnell will serve as Secretary. He is Garrard County deputy judge executive and finance officer and owner of Bushnell Bookstore, Bushnell Drycleaning and Garrard Investment Corporation. He also is a member of the Bluegrass Workforce Investment Executive Board and chairman  of the Bluegrass Youth Council. Bushnell, his wife, Marissa, and daughter, Catherine, live in Lancaster.

With total committed assets of $2.8 million, WTCF began in 2002 as the result of a study commissioned by the Danville-Boyle County Chamber of Commerce. It is an affiliate of The Community Foundation of Louisville. 

For more information, call Pete Chiericozzi at (859) 325-3869 or visit www. wildernesstrace.org.


Paint Lick Sportsmans Club Christmas party set

The Paint Lick Sportsmans Club will hold its Christmas party 7-8:30 p.m. Dec. 16, at the Friends of Paint Lick building, 11656 Richmond Road. Attendees should bring their favorite appetizer or dessert to share. Hot beverages and utensils will be provided. Come prepared to join the fellowship while munching on some great food.


McDowell accepting applications for training course

Ephraim McDowell Regional Medical Center is accepting applications for a Medicaid nurse aide training course.

The next training course will be Jan. 4-19.  

Classes will meet Wednesday through Friday the first week, Monday through Friday the second week and Monday through Thursday the final week. Each class will meet from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. The training course will be held at the Gilcher building in the Barton Room.

 Enrollment is limited to the first 12 people who pay the enrollment fee. Participants must have a high school diploma. The class cost is $650. The fee includes a book, workbook, healthcare provider CPR certification and the cost of the state board exam. 

To apply or for more information, please contact the Ephraim McDowell Health Associate Education Department at (859) 239-1600.


Forensics team grabs first at WKU 

BOWLING GREEN — The Danville High School Forensics Team took first place Dec. 12 at the WKU Hilltopper competition hosted by national champion Western Kentucky University Forensics. DHS placed first in a tight, three-way race with second-place Ravenwood, Tenn., and third-place Rowan County High.

The loss was Ravenwood’s first in six years. Twenty schools from four states competed in the last contest of the fall semester. Individual results for Danville team members are:

Varsity events

Broadcasting: Sarabeth Marlowe, first, Dylan Crow, fourth; declamation: Madeline Salinas, first, Sue Cook, second, Emma Jackson, fourth; dramatic interpretation: Drew Lane, first; duo interpretation: Sarabeth Marlowe and John Thompson, first, Isabelle Ballard and Dylan Crow, fourth; extemporaneous speaking: Phoebe Ross, third, Jono Beto, fourth, Andrew McKinney, fifth; humorous interpretation: Jack Graham, fourth; improvisational duo: Dylan Crow and Nate Johnson, first, Jack Graham and Sam Nelson, fourth, John Thompson and Wright Williams, fifth, Jono Beto and Andrew McKinney, sixth; and original oratory: Madeline Salinas, third.

Novice events

Declamation:  Cloe Anderson, second, Tanisha Bruce, fourth, Sydney Mullins, sixth; humorous interpretation: Mary-Scott Bugg, second; impromptu speaking:  Austin Barringer, fourth; improvisational duo: Austin Barringer and Max Cosby, second; poetry: Laurel Payne, second, Mary Thompson, third, Tanisha Bruce, fourth; and prose:  Mary Thompson, second, Molly Anderson, third.