RSS feeds allow Web site content to be gathered via feed reader software. Click the subscribe link to obtain the feed URL for this page. The feed will update when new content appears on this page.

William Randolph Hearst

A collection of news and information related to William Randolph Hearst published by this site and its partners.

Top William Randolph Hearst Articles

Displaying items 45-55
  • Marion Davies' former home sells for $9.3 million

    Marion Davies' former home sells for $9.3 million
    The former Beverly Hills residence of actress and comedian Marion Davies has sold for $9,262,500. The villa-style mansion was once owned by Harry Cohn, early president of Columbia Pictures, and more recently by screenwriter, novelist and playwright Aleen...
  • Marian Manners, Prudence Penny, the first celebrity cooks

    Marian Manners, Prudence Penny, the first celebrity cooks
    Tune the television to so many rapid-fire cooking shows today, and it seems eventually you're bound to witness some kind of shouting match. It's enough to make the stomach nostalgic for the kinder, simpler days of Marian Manners and Prudence Penny, the...
  • When is a Zin not a Zin?

    When is a Zin not a Zin?
    Zinfandel is often called California's indigenous wine, but its story is not that simple. Some of the best Zinfandel-based wines from the state's best and most historic vineyards can't use the grape name on their labels. In these bottles, Zinfandel leads...
  • The List: Art Openings

    So much art, so little time. How to best navigate the Los Angeles gallery and museum scene? Here are critic's previews, openings and continuing shows for the week beginning Thursday, June 26. Critic's Preview Christopher Knight, Times Art Critic Chris &...
  • 'Alive in Necropolis' by Doug Dorst

    'Alive in Necropolis' by Doug Dorst
    Alive in Necropolis A Novel Doug Dorst Riverhead: 440 pp., $25.95 Real estate means a lot in America -- ask the Indians. Or ask some of the first white Californians to be displaced by gentrification. They can't answer, being dead. In 1900, San...
  • His wit was hard-boiled

    His wit was hard-boiled
    WE think we know Damon Runyon, and we might think we're pretty jaded about him, but a fat new anthology, " 'Guys and Dolls' and Other Writings" (Penguin: 636 pp., $18 paper), introduced by Pete Hamill and edited and annotated by Cornell professor Daniel...
  • Virginia Warren Daly dies at 80; popular socialite in New York and Washington

    In the 1950s and '60s, if Virginia Warren Daly came to your party, you had it made. Effervescent, beautiful and popular with the opposite sex, the daughter of Supreme Court Chief Justice Earl Warren was a staple of the society columns in Washington and...
  • Van Johnson, MGM's boy-next-door, dies at 92

    Van Johnson, MGM's boy-next-door, dies at 92
    Van Johnson, who soared to stardom during World War II as MGM's boy-next-door in films such as "A Guy Named Joe" and "Thirty Seconds Over Tokyo" and became one of the era's top box-office draws, died Friday. He was 92. Johnson, who was most frequently...
  • On the trail of the Russian crown jewels

    On the trail of the Russian crown jewels
    She's navigated the world of Los Angeles' elite for eight decades -- weekending at Hearst Castle at San Simeon with William Randolph Hearst, riding horses with friends at her family ranch above the boulevard that bears her father's name, partying at...
  • LA Times announces 2009 Book Prize finalists

     
    The Los Angeles Times has announced the finalists for its 2009 Book Prizes: for the first time, graphic novels will be in competition for an LA Times Book Prize of their own. There are now 10 competitive categories: biography, current......
  • Robert Sean Leonard on 'House', movies and his happy lack of ambition

     
    Fans of Dr. James Wilson, Robert Sean Leonard's character on "House," have a lot to look forward to in the Nov. 30 episode – titled "Wilson." Leonard's screen time has increased this season, since Hugh Laurie's Dr. House moved in......