Chuck Bednarik
AJ McCarron, Jameis Winston win top awards
AJ McCarron, Jameis Winston win top awards

Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron won the Maxwell Award, given to college football's player of the year. Florida State's Jameis Winston won the Davey O'Brien Award, given to the top quarterback. Both players are finalists for the Heisman Trophy, which will be presented Saturday night. McCarron, a fifth-year senior, led Alabama to an 11-1 season that left the Crimson Tide just short of a chance to play for its third straight national championship. Winston, a redshirt freshman and Heisman favorite, hopes to join the past three Davey O'Brien winners, who all went on to take home the Heisman in the same year. Winston also was selected as the Walter Camp player of the year, joining Charlie...