Topics

Dominika Cibulkova
Novak Djokovic benefits from erroneous call in win over Andy Murray
Novak Djokovic benefits from erroneous call in win over Andy Murray

KEY BISCAYNE, Fla. -- Novak Djokovic benefited from an erroneous call and claimed he didn't realize he had broken the rules. When Andy Murray walked to the net and challenged him about it, Djokovic responded with a shrug and a sheepish smile. Murray lost the dispute, and the match. The pivotal ruling against the defending champion helped Djokovic win, 7-5, 6-3, in the quarterfinals of the Sony Open. Roger Federer was up a service break twice in the second set but lost to No. 20-seeded Kei Nishikori, 3-6, 7-5, 6-4. Nishikori will play Djokovic on Friday. The point in question occurred at the start of the 12th game, with Murray serving at 5-6. Djokovic charged forward to volley a...

Loading