L.A. Now
Flooding, thunder and lightning are reported amid triple-digit heat


Cook County
Cook County

Cook County is the biggest county in the state of Illinois and includes Chicago and many of the surrounding suburbs in the northeast corner of the state. According to the U.S. Census, the county covered about 945 square miles and its population was 5,288,655 in 2006. The county was named after Daniel Pope Cook, a former member of the U.S. House of Representatives in the early 1800s. Toni Preckwinkle is the Cook County Board President.