Travel

Hollywood: Where to stay and eat, what to see and do

Los Angeles HotelsHotel and Accommodation IndustryArts and CultureLifestyle and LeisureRestaurantsDining and DrinkingMovies

Monastery of the Angels, 1977 Carmen Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 466-2186, Ext. 817; www.themonasteryoftheangelslosangeles.com.  

Sunset Ranch, 3400 N. Beachwood Drive, Los Angeles; (323) 469-5450, www.sunsetranchhollywood.com.  

Hollyridge Trail Hike, at Pelham Place and Hollyridge, www.beachwoodcanyon.org/Stairs.htm

Best Western Plus Hollywood Hills, 6141 Franklin Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 464-5181, www.bestwestern.com/hollywoodhillshotel. Pool, 86 rooms. $-$$

101 Coffee Shop, 6145 Franklin Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 467-1175, www.the101coffeeshop.com. $-$$

Hollywood Bowl, 2301 N. Highland Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 850-2000, www.hollywoodbowl.com.  

Greek Theatre, 2700 Vermont Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 665-5857, www.greektheatrela.com.  

Counterpoint Records & Books, 5911 Franklin Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 957-7965, www.counterpointrecordsandbooks.com.  

Daily Planet, 5931 1/2 Franklin Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 957-0061, www.thedailyplanetbookstore.com.  

Victor's, 1917 N. Bronson Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 464-0276, www.victorssquare.com. $-$$

Oaks Gourmet Market, 1915 N. Bronson Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 871-8894, www.theoaksgourmet.com. $-$$

Musso & Frank Grill, 6667 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 467-7788, www.mussoandfrank.com. $$-$$$

Pantages Theatre, 6233 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 468-1770, www.broadwayla.org.  

Frolic Room, 6245 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 462-5890, no website.

Writer's Room, 6685 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; too hip for a phone number or website.

Redbury Hotel, 1717 Vine St., Los Angeles; (323) 962-1717 or (877) 962-1717, www.theredbury.com. $$$

W Hotel, 6250 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 798-1300, www.whollywoodhotel.com. $$$

Drai’s Nightclub at W Hotel, 6250 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 962-1111, www.drais.net.

Kodak Theatre, 6801 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 308-6300 or (877) 943-4747 (“Iris”), www.kodaktheatre.com and www.cirquedusoleil.com/en/shows/iris.  

Hollywood & Highland Center, 6801 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 467-6412, www.hollywoodandhighland.com.  

El Capitan Theatre, 6838 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (818) 845-3110, Ext. 3; www.elcapitan.go.com.  

Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, 7000 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 466-7000, www.thompsonhotels.com/hotels/la/hollywood-roosevelt. $$-$$$

Twenty-Five Degrees, Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, 7000 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 785-7244, www.25degreesrestaurant.com. $-$$

Renaissance Hollywood Hotel, 1755 N. Highland Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 856-1200, www.renaissancehollywood.com. $$-$$$ (Note that the hotel has recently been sold and a name change is pending.)

Hollywood Walk of Fame, Hollywood Boulevard from La Brea Avenue to Gower Street, Los Angeles; www.walkoffame.com and for who’s where, check http://projects.latimes.com/hollywood/star-walk  

Grauman's Chinese Theater, 6925 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 461-3331; tour info (323) 463-9576, www.chinesetheatres.com.  

Starline Tours, 6925 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 463-3333, www.starlinetours.com.  

Madame Tussauds Hollywood, 6933 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (866) 841-3315, www.madametussauds.com/Hollywood.

Ripleys Believe it or Not!, 6780 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 466-6335, www.ripleys.com/hollywood.

Hollywood Guinness World Record Museum, 6764 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 463-6433, www.guinnessmuseumhollywood.com.

Larry Edmunds Bookshop, 6644 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 463-3273, www.larryedmunds.com.

Paramount Pictures Studio Tours, 5555 Melrose Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 956-1777, www.paramountstudios.com/special-events/tours.html.  

Larchmont Bungalow, 107 N. Larchmont Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 461-1528, www.larchmontbungalow.com. $$

Hollywood Forever cemetery, 6000 Santa Monica Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 469-1181, www.hollywoodforever.com and www.cinespia.org for outdoor movie screenings.

Magic Castle, 7001 Franklin Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 851-3313, www.magiccastle.com. $$-$$$

Magic Castle Hotel, 7025 Franklin Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 851-0800, www.magiccastlehotel.com. $$ Shares management with the Hollywood Hills Hotel, same address. $

Yamashiro, 1999 N. Sycamore Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 466-5125, www.yamashirorestaurant.com. $$-$$$

Palm's Thai Restaurant, 5900 Hollywood Blvd., Suite B, Los Angeles; (323) 462-5073, www.palmsthai.com. $$

Hudson Theatres, 6539 Santa Monica Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 856-4249, www.hudsontheatre.com.

Hollywood Theater Row; www.theaterrowhollywood.com.

Jumbo's Clown Room, 5153 Hollywood Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 666-1187, www.jumbos.com.  

Amoeba Music, 6400 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 245-6400, www.amoeba.com.  

Space 15 Twenty, 1520 N. Cahuenga Blvd., Los Angeles; no phone, www.space15twenty.com.  

Umami Urban, Space 15 Twenty, 1520 N. Cahuenga Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 469-3100, www.umami.com/umami-burger. $$

Hennessey + Ingalls Art & Architecture Bookstore, Space 15 Twenty, 1520 N. Cahuenga Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 466-1256, www.hennesseyingalls.com.

Stout, 1544 N. Cahuenga Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 469-3801, www.stoutburgersandbeers.com. $-$$

Guitar Center & Rock Walk, 7425 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 874-1060, stores.guitarcenter.com/Hollywood and www.rockwalk.com.  

Aroma Café, 7373 W. Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles; (323) 850-8120, www.aromabakery.com. Breakfast, lunch and dinner in a big dining room with glass walls and a big patio.$$-$$$

Hotel Cafe, 1623½ N. Cahuenga Blvd., Los Angeles; no public phone, www.hotelcafe.com.

Highland Gardens Hotel, 7047 Franklin Ave., Los Angeles; (323) 850-0536, www.highlandgardenshotel.com. $

Roscoe's House of Chicken 'n Waffles, 1514 N. Gower St., Los Angeles. (323) 466-7453, www.roscoeschickenandwaffles.com. $$

Price guide to hotel and restaurant listings:

The hotel price-range indicator shows approximate beginning rates for a room for two, before taxes.

$: Less than $150 a night

$$: $151-$250 a night

$$$: $251-$400 a night

$$$$: $401 a night

The restaurant price-range indicator is based on cost per person for a meal, before drinks, tax or tip.

$: Less than $10

$$: $11-$30

$$$: $31 and beyond

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times
Related Content
Los Angeles HotelsHotel and Accommodation IndustryArts and CultureLifestyle and LeisureRestaurantsDining and DrinkingMovies
Comments
Loading