latimes.com/travel/la-tr-titanichalifaxbox-20120415,0,1706315.story

latimes.com

Info on Halifax, Canada

April 15, 2012

Advertisement

If you go

THE BEST WAY TO HALIFAX, CANADA

From LAX, Air Canada, Delta, United and US Airways offer connecting service (change of planes) to Halifax. Restricted round-trip fares begin at $876, including taxes and fees.

WHERE TO STAY

The Halliburton, 5184 Morris St.; (902) 420-0658, http://www.thehalliburton.com. Three 19th century town houses converted into a sophisticated 29-room boutique hotel. Better for couples than kids. Rooms for two usually $165-$225, less in colder months.

Waverley Inn, 1266 Barrington St.; (902) 423-9346, waverleyinn.com. Most rooms for two $129-$190, less in colder months. Comfortable, semi-restored, three-story 1876 building with 34 rooms, no elevator.

Halifax Heritage House Hostel, 1253 Barrington St.; (902) 422-3863, http://www.hihostels.ca/novascotia/331/nova_scotia_hi-halifax.hostel. Near the action downtown with 75 beds. $35 for a bed in a dorm room, $85 for a private family room with bath.

Prince George Hotel, 1725 Market St.; (902) 425-1986, http://www.princegeorgehotel.com. Not much character but well set up for families and business travelers, with 203 rooms downtown. Rooms for two usually $149-$289.

WHERE TO EAT

The Five Fishermen, 1740 Argyle St; (902) 422-4421, fivefishermen.com. Upscale seafood and steak in a historic building, with fancy restaurant above, grill and oyster bar on ground floor. Main dishes $16-$39.

Stories at the Halliburton, 5184 Morris St.; (902) 444-4400, http://www.thehalliburton.com/stories-restaurant/. Fine dining, often with bison and caribou on menu. Main dishes $17-$37.

Obladee, 1600 Barrington St.; (902) 405-4505, obladee.ca. Stylish wine bar, opened 2010. Three charcuterie and cheese items for $15.

Henry House, 1222 Barrington St.; (902) 423-5660, henryhouse.ca. Bustling two-level pub in an 1834 stone house. Main dishes $13-$20.

The Economy Shoe Shop Café & Bar, 1663 Argyle St., Halifax; (902) 423-7463, economyshoeshop.ca. Sprawling semi-Moroccan space with a busy bar and lively, younger crowd. Sandwiches and main dishes about $10-$22.

Salty's, 1869 Upper Water St.; (902) 423-6818, http://www.saltys.com. Ocean views, especially from the pricier upstairs dining room (white tablecloth and "classy" feel). Upstairs, main dishes about $24-$39. In the casual downstairs space (no tablecloth), main dishes about $13-$28.

WHAT TO SEE

Fairview Lawn Cemetery, 3720 Windsor St.; (902) 490-4883, halifax.ca/history/tfairview.html.

Maritime Museum of the Atlantic, 1675 Lower Water St.; (902) 424-7490, maritime.museum.gov.ns.ca. Adult admission $8.75 May through October, $4.75 November through April.

TO LEARN MORE

Nova Scotia tourism, http://www.novascotia.com. Halifax Regional Municipality, http://www.halifaxinfo.com