WGN Radio named Station of the Year at the 2011 IBA Silver Dome Awards

WGN Radio took top honors at the 2011 Illinois Broadcasters Association (IBA) Silver Dome Awards, held June 15 in Normal. The IBA recognized WGN Radio as Station of the Year at its annual best in state awards ceremony.

In addition to being named Station of the Year, WGN Radio also earned first place honors in six categories, the most of any station. The first place finishes included: best station website for wgnradio.com, best radio sportscaster for Dave Eanet, best sports play-by-play for Chicago Blackhawks' broadcasters John Wiedeman and Troy Murray, best local broadcast team for Steve King & Johnnie Putman, best local public affairs program for Dean Richards' Breast Cancer 2010, and best use of new media for the Eva's Bridals fire Facebook campaign.

"We are honored to be recognized as the Illinois Broadcasters Association Station of the Year," said Tom Langmyer, Vice President/General Manager of WGN Radio. "WGN Radio is proud to be the 'The Voice of Chicago,' with unique personalities and relevant news & information serving Chicagoland and the Midwest. We remain dedicated to our heritage of community service."

Radio station competition is divided into three market classifications, allowing stations in similarly sized markets to compete on a level playing field. Out-of-state broadcasters do the judging for the Illinois competition. Entry fees collected for the competition help fund the IBA's College Endowment and Minority Internship Programs.

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times