Governor-Elect Andrew Cuomo Picks Transition Teams

New York Governor-Elect Andrew Cuomo savored victory on election night almost two weeks ago. Now he's getting ready to govern. Cuomo's transition teams are expected to begin meeting as early as next week. The transition teams are meant to help the Governor-Elect fill important posts in his incoming administration. The goal is to let the Governor-Elect hit the ground running the minute he formally takes power in January.

We're learning who will be on Cuomo's 'Public Safety', 'Environment & Energy & Recreation' and 'Human Services & Housing' transition teams. The list includes a lot of familiar names, including New York City Police Commissioner Ray Kelly.

Here's the full list from an Andrew Cuomo news release:

"Public Safety Transition Team:· Michael Balboni, former Senator, former Deputy Secretary for Public Safety· Zachary Carter, former United States Attorney for the Eastern District of New York· Derek Champagne, Franklin County District Attorney; President, District Attorney's Association of New York · Rocco Diina, former Buffalo Police Chief · Janet DiFiore, Westchester County District Attorney· Louis Joseph Freeh, former Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation · Raymond Kelly, New York City Police Chief· Peter King, U.S. House of Representatives · Patrick Lynch, President, New York City Patrolmen's Benevolent Association· Robert Morgenthau, former Manhattan District Attorney· Phil Ramos, New York State Assembly· Christopher Stone, Daniel and Florence Guggenheim Professor of the Practice of Criminal Justice, Harvard University· Keith Wright, New York State Assembly · Steve Younger, President, New York State Bar Association

Environment & Energy & Recreation Transition Team:· Eddie Bautista, Executive Director, New York City Environmental Justice Alliance · Carlton A. Brown, C.O.O., Full Spectrum NY · Marcia Bystryn, Executive Director, New York League of Conservation Voters· Robert B. Catell, Chairman of the Advanced Energy Research and Technology Center at New York State University at Stony Brook· Gavin Donohue, President and C.E.O., Independent Power Producers of New York· John Dyson, Chairman and Director, Millbrook Capital Management· Adriano Espaillat, NYS Assembly; Sen-Elect, NYS Senate· Adrienne Esposito, Executive Director, Citizens Campaign for the Environment· David Hahn-Baker, Founder and President, Inside/Out Political Consultants · Peter Goldmark, Program Director - Climate and Air, Environmental Defense Fund· Ashok Gupta, Air and Energy Program Director and Senior Energy Economist, NRDC· David Haight, New York Director, American Farmland Trust· Bob Hallman, New York League of Conservation Voters· Rhea Jezer, League of Conservation Voters; Member, Sierra Club· Robert F. Kennedy, Jr., Chief Prosecuting Attorney, Riverkeeper· Susan Lawrence, Chair, Atlantic Chapter, Sierra Club · Myles Lennon, Coordinator for Green Operations, Local 10 of the Laborers' Union in New York City · Anthony Malkin, President, Malkin Securities; owner Empire State Building· Carol Murphy, Executive Director, Alliance for Clean Energy· J. Andrew Murphy, Executive Vice President and Regional President, NRG Energy· Peggy Shepard, Executive Director and Co-Founder, WE ACT· Ned Sullivan, President, Scenic Hudson· Lee Telega, Senior Extension Associate, Cornell University · Dan Tishman, Chairman and C.E.O., Tishman Construction Corporation; Chairman, NRDC· Lucy Rockefeller Waletzky, MD, Chair, New York State Council of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation

Human Services & Housing Transition Team:· Stuart Appelbaum, President, Retail, Wholesale and Department Store Union· Charles Bell, Programs Director, Consumers Union · Karim Camara, New York State Assembly· Vivian Cook, New York State Assembly· Susan Hagar, President, United Way of New York State· Carl Heastie, New York State Assembly· Nancy Hollander, Doctoral Candidate in School Clinical Child Psychology at the Serkauf Graduate School of Psychology of Yeshiva University· Chung-Wha Hong, Executive Director, New York Immigration Coalition· Christopher Kui, Executive Director, Asian Americans for Equality· Ross Levi, Executive Director, Empire State Pride Agenda and Foundation· Kevin Leyden, Immediate Past President, Parsons Child and Family Center· Duncan Mackenzie, C.E.O., New York State Association of Realtors· Grace Meng, New York State Assembly· Christine Quinn, Speaker, New York City Council· Rossana Rosado, Publisher, El Diario"

Last week Governor-Elect Cuomo named members of another transition team designed to focus on the economy and fiscal reform.

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times