Incumbents favored in Indiana's 9 congressional districts

FamilyElectionsPoliticsJustice SystemDemocratic PartyCrime, Law and Justice

UNDATED (AP) - Indiana's ninecongressional districts feature mostly quiet contests this year, with evenfreshman representatives expected to win. Democrats have held a 5-4 edge in Indiana's delegationsince 2006.


District 1


Candidates - Democrat:Peter Visclosky (incumbent); Republican: Mark Leyva; Libertarian: Jeff Duensing


Visclosky is seeking his13th term in the heavily Democratic district he has represented since 1984. Hefaces Republican Mark Leyva, a union carpenter, for the fourth straight timeand has won with at least two-thirds of the vote in the previous elections.


District 2


Candidates - Democrat:Joe Donnelly (incumbent); Republican: Luke Puckett; Libertarian: Mark Vogel


Donnelly defeatedtwo-term Republican Rep. Chris Chocola in 2006 with 54 percent of the vote.Puckett, who owns a boat furniture company in Goshen, is making his first run for publicoffice and has struggled to gain attention.


District 3


Candidates - Republican:Mark Souder (incumbent); Democrat: Michael Montagano; Libertarian: WilliamLarsen


Souder faces apotentially tough challenge from Montagano, a 27-year-old attorney, to keep theseat he first won in 1994. Souder has typically won with more than 60 percentof the vote but was held to 54 percent in 2006, and national Democrats havebeen spending heavily in support of Montagano.


District 4


Candidates - Republican:Steve Buyer (incumbent); Democrat: Nels Ackerson


Buyer is seeking a 9thterm in the heavily Republican district and faces Ackerson, an attorney fromZionsville who was a top aide to then-Sen. Birch Bayh in the 1970s. Ackersonhas run an active campaign, but it would likely take a huge Democratic wave forhim to defeat Buyer.


District 5


Candidates - Republican:Dan Burton (incumbent); Democrat: Mary Etta Ruley


Burton has represented the district - one of themost-Republican in the country - since 1982 but barely survived a GOP primary challengethis year, defeating John McGoff with 52 percent of the vote. Burtonfaces Ruley, a Marionbusinesswoman who has not reported raising any campaign funds.


District 6


Candidates - Republican:Mike Pence (incumbent); Democrat: Barry Welsh; Libertarian: George Holland


Pence is seekingre-election to the seat he first won in 2000. Pence defeated Welsh, a Methodistminister, in the 2006 election with 60 percent of the vote.


District 7


Candidates - Democrat:Andre Carson (incumbent); Republican: Gabrielle Campo


Carson is seeking election to a full term afterwinning a special election in March to succeed his grandmother, Julia Carson, whodied in December. Carsonfaces the little-known Campo, a social worker selected as the GOP candidateafter primary winner Jon Elrod dropped out to seek re-election to the IndianaHouse.


District 8


Candidates - Democrat:Brad Ellsworth (incumbent); Republican: Greg Goode


Ellsworth, a former Vanderburgh County sheriff, defeated six-termRepublican John Hostettler in 2006 with 61 percent of the vote. Goode, a formercongressional aide and Indiana State Universityadministrator, has struggled to raise campaign funds but is looking to tap intothe same base of religious conservatives that helped Hostettler win severalclose elections.


District 9


Candidates - Democrat:Baron Hill (incumbent); Republican: Mike Sodrel; Libertarian: D. EricSchansberg


Hill, who hasrepresented the district for eight of the past 10 years, and Sodrel are facingeach other for the fourth consecutive election. Hill defeated Sodrel, the ownerof a bus and trucking company, in 2002, then lost to him in 2004. Hill won theseat back two years ago.

Copyright © 2014, Los Angeles Times