'The Mortal Instruments' series, Cassandra Clare

Studio: Constantin Films Story: The six-book series includes "City of Bones," "City of Ashes," "City of Glass," "City of Fallen Angels" and the upcoming "City of Lost Souls" (May 2012) and "City of Heavenly Fire" (March 2014). When 15-year-old Clary Fray witnesses a murder committed by three teenagers covered with strange tattoos and brandishing bizarre weapons, the body disappears into thin air and the murderers are invisible to everyone but Clary. Equally startled by her ability to see them, the murderers explain themselves as Shadowhunters: a secret tribe of warriors dedicated to ridding the earth of demons. Within twenty-four hours, Clary's mother disappears and Clary herself is almost killed by a grotesque demon. Casting: Lily Collins ("Mirror Mirror") is set to star as Clary and Jamie Campbell-Bower ("Twilight") as Jace.
Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
EDITION: California | U.S. & World