'Rock Star: Supernova' Finalists Are Ready to Roll


On Friday (June 23), CBS unveiled the 15 finalists who will compete in the latest season of the reality series "Rock Star."

Titled "Rock Star: Supernova," this season's contenders will be competing for the chance to join drummer Tommy Lee (Motley Crue, random sex tapes), bassist Jason Newsted (Metallica) and guitarist Gilby Clark (Guns N' Roses) in the newly formed Supernova.

Following the September finale, Supernova will record an album with the winner. A fall release and worldwide tour will ensue.

Last season's winner was 31-year-old Canadian J.D. Fortune, whose first single with INXS, "Pretty Vegas," helped push the band to its highest-charting debut ever.

Here are this season's "Rock Star: Supernova" finalists:

  • Zayra Alvarez, Dallas
  • Dana Andrews, Augusta, GA
  • Magni Asgeirsson, Reykjavik, Iceland
  • Jenny Galt, Vancouver, BC
  • Jill Gioia, New York
  • Matt Hoffer, Chicago
  • Storm Large, Portland, OR
  • Josh Logan, Manchester, NH
  • Chris Pierson, Atlanta
  • Patrice Pike, Austin, TX
  • Toby Rand, Melbourne, Australia
  • Phil Ritchie, Ocean City, MD
  • Dilana Robichaux, Houston
  • Lukas Rossi, Toronto, ON
  • Ryan Star, New York
    The special 90-minute premiere episode of "Rock Star: Supernova" will air on Wednesday, July 5, followed by a second special the next night. The following week, the show will move into its regular Tuesday and Wednesday slots. Last season's performance episodes averaged about 6.3 million viewers (the finale drew close to 8 million), while the results shows drew about 5.4 million.
  • Copyright © 2018, Los Angeles Times
    EDITION: California | U.S. & World