California teen is last to be abandoned under law
Nebraska officials say a 14-year-old California boy has become the last child reported abandoned under the state’s safe-haven law before it was changed to limit such drop-offs to infants no more than 30 days old.
Nebraska officials say the Yolo County boy was driven to Kimball County Hospital on Friday by his mother. Authorities say the boy has been placed in a foster home while state officials contact the appropriate agencies in California.
That brings to 36 the number of children left at Nebraska hospitals since the state’s law went on the books in July. That law did not specify an age limit for drop-offs, so lawmakers changed the statute effective Saturday.