Oscars 2014: The complete list of foreign-language film submissions

And the winner is...
(Al Seib / Los Angeles Times)

A record 76 movies will compete in the foreign-language film category at the 2014 Oscars, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced Monday.

Moldova and Saudi Arabia are among the first-time entrants, and Montenegro is submitting for the first time as an independent country.

The 86th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, Jan. 16, 2014, at 5:30 a.m. PST in the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.


OSCARS 2014: Full coverage

The submissions are:

Afghanistan, “Wajma – An Afghan Love Story,” Barmak Akram, director

Albania, “Agon,” Robert Budina, director

Argentina, “The German Doctor,” Lucía Puenzo, director

Australia, “The Rocket,” Kim Mordaunt, director

Austria, “The Wall,” Julian Pölsler, director

Azerbaijan, “Steppe Man,” Shamil Aliyev, director

Bangladesh, “Television,” Mostofa Sarwar Farooki, director

Belgium, “The Broken Circle Breakdown,” Felix van Groeningen, director

Bosnia and Herzegovina, “An Episode in the Life of an Iron Picker,” Danis Tanovic, director

Brazil, “Neighboring Sounds,” Kleber Mendonça Filho, director

Bulgaria, “The Color of the Chameleon,” Emil Hristov, director

Cambodia, “The Missing Picture,” Rithy Panh, director

Canada, “Gabrielle,” Louise Archambault, director

Chad, “GriGris,” Mahamat-Saleh Haroun, director

Chile, “Gloria,” Sebastián Lelio, director

China, “Back to 1942,” Feng Xiaogang, director

Colombia, “La Playa DC,” Juan Andrés Arango, director

Croatia, “Halima’s Path,” Arsen Anton Ostojic, director

Czech Republic, “The Don Juans,” Jiri Menzel, director

Denmark, “The Hunt,” Thomas Vinterberg, director

Dominican Republic, “Quien Manda?” Ronni Castillo, director

Ecuador, “The Porcelain Horse,” Javier Andrade, director

Egypt, “Winter of Discontent,” Ibrahim El Batout, director

Estonia, “Free Range,” Veiko Ounpuu, director

Finland, “Disciple,” Ulrika Bengts, director

France, “Renoir,” Gilles Bourdos, director

Georgia, “In Bloom,” Nana Ekvtimishvili and Simon Gross, directors

Germany, “Two Lives,” Georg Maas, director

Greece, “Boy Eating the Bird’s Food,” Ektoras Lygizos, director

Hong Kong, “The Grandmaster,” Wong Kar-wai, director

Hungary, “The Notebook,” Janos Szasz, director

Iceland, “Of Horses and Men,” Benedikt Erlingsson, director

India, “The Good Road,” Gyan Correa, director

Indonesia, “Sang Kiai,” Rako Prijanto, director

Iran, “The Past,” Asghar Farhadi, director

Israel, “Bethlehem,” Yuval Adler, director

Italy, “The Great Beauty,” Paolo Sorrentino, director

Japan, “The Great Passage,” Ishii Yuya, director

Kazakhstan, “Shal,” Yermek Tursunov, director

Latvia, “Mother, I Love You,” Janis Nords, director

Lebanon, “Blind Intersections,” Lara Saba, director

Lithuania, “Conversations on Serious Topics,” Giedre Beinoriute, director

Luxembourg, “Blind Spot,” Christophe Wagner, director

Mexico, “Heli,” Amat Escalante, director

Moldova, “All God’s Children,” Adrian Popovici, director

Montenegro, “Ace of Spades - Bad Destiny,” Drasko Djurovic, director

Morocco, “Horses of God,” Nabil Ayouch, director

Nepal, “Soongava: Dance of the Orchids,” Subarna Thapa, director

Netherlands, “Borgman,” Alex van Warmerdam, director

New Zealand, “White Lies,” Dana Rotberg, director

Norway, “I Am Yours,” Iram Haq, director

Pakistan, “Zinda Bhaag,” Meenu Gaur and Farjad Nabi, directors

Palestine, “Omar,” Hany Abu-Assad, director

Peru, “The Cleaner,” Adrian Saba, director

Philippines, “Transit,” Hannah Espia, director

Poland, “Walesa. Man of Hope,” Andrzej Wajda, director

Portugal, “Lines of Wellington,” Valeria Sarmiento, director

Romania, “Child’s Pose,” Calin Peter Netzer, director

Russia, “Stalingrad,” Fedor Bondarchuk, director

Saudi Arabia, “Wadjda,” Haifaa Mansour, director

Serbia, “Circles,” Srdan Golubovic, director

Singapore, “Ilo Ilo,” Anthony Chen, director

Slovak Republic, “My Dog Killer,” Mira Fornay, director

Slovenia, “Class Enemy,” Rok Bicek, director

South Africa, “Four Corners,” Ian Gabriel, director

South Korea, “Juvenile Offender,” Kang Yi-kwan, director

Spain, “15 Years Plus a Day,” Gracia Querejeta, director

Sweden, “Eat Sleep Die,” Gabriela Pichler, director

Switzerland, “More than Honey,” Markus Imhoof, director

Taiwan, “Soul,” Chung Mong-Hong, director

Thailand, “Countdown,” Nattawut Poonpiriya, director

Turkey, “The Butterfly’s Dream,” Yilmaz Erdogan, director

Ukraine, “Paradjanov,” Serge Avedikian and Olena Fetisova, directors

United Kingdom, “Metro Manila,” Sean Ellis, director

Uruguay, “Anina,” Alfredo Soderguit, director

Venezuela, “Breach in the Silence,” Luis Alejandro Rodríguez and Andrés Eduardo Rodríguez, directors


Academy members find themselves in ‘Gravity’s’ pull, too

3 casting directors elected to film academy’s Board of Governors


A record 76 foreign-language Oscar submissions point to heated race