Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

Service Clubs: mayor’s cup golf tournament and outstanding educators

Service Clubs: mayor’s cup golf tournament and outstanding educators
Burbank Teachers who were honored by the Kiwanis Club of Burbank with the “Outstanding Educator Award” on May 16, 2012.
(Photo courtesy of Harvey Branman.)

Burbank Sunrise Kiwanis

The 15th Annual Mayors’ Cup Golf Tournament hosted by the Burbank Sunrise Kiwanis was held on April 27 and it went very well.  Former and current city of Burbank Mayors and all their golf playing friends, as well as our high school players, participate every year in this great fundraising event.

Among the Mayors present were current (at the time of the tournament) Mayor Jess Talamantes, as well as former Mayors Todd Campbell, Mary Lou Howard, Dave Golonski, Marsha Ramos, Gary Bric, and Vince Stefano.

The first place winners in “A Flight” were:  Michael Cusumano, Bret Mersola, Mike Rigo and Steve Dickson.  First place winners “for B Flight”:  Gary Bric, Ken Spencer, John Bryan and Ron Jancula.


The first place High School winners were:  Andy Chung and Bryan Dunayer of Burbank High School, partnered with Kelsy Danzeisen and Sivakorn Losakul of John Burroughs High School.

The funds raised will enable the club to better serve their community, as it will benefit a great number of non-profit agencies as well as various school programs.

Burbank Sunrise Kiwanis meets Wednesday mornings at 7 a.m. at the DeBell Golf Club Clubhouse.  For more information contact Donna Anderson at (818) 238-5880 or at

Kiwanis Club of Burbank


At their May 16 meeting, the Burbank Noon Kiwanis honored one outstanding educator from each school in the Burbank Unified School District.  The Outstanding Teacher is selected by each school’s administration and/or staff, and must meet the following selection criteria:  At least five years of experience working primarily with students on a regular basis; enthusiasm for learning and a love of students; dedication, effectiveness and competence as shown through the growth and achievements of their pupils; commitment to the professional growth of other teachers and the improvement of the school and district; involvement over and above normal job requirements including some community and/or professional involvement; and, lastly, not being a previous Kiwanis Outstanding Teacher Award recipient.

This year’s winners are: Nicole VanGorder, Disney; Elizabeth Wood, Edison; Moira Hanson, Emerson; Julia Joslin, Bret Harte; Tish Reed, Jefferson; Debbie Gregoire, McKinley; Cynthia Madera, Miller; Katherine Colvin Marvin, Providencia; Kathy Wills-Sarna, Roosevelt; Marisa Torres, Stevenson; Dorothy Hernandez, Washington; Anthony Redman, Luther; Leslie Hawa, Jordan; Nancy Fink, Muir; Guy Myers, John Burroughs High School; Jonelle Pickett, Burbank High School; Carol Holubek, Monterey High School; Chris Tutak, Adult School.

 Also honored were this year’s retiring teachers: Ellen Kay Anderson & Cynthia Jacques from JBHS, Ignacia Doggett, Alma Schneider, Brian Sherwood, Sandra Sigal & Tanda Tindell from BHS, Caren Collier &  Karen Gibson from Bret Harte, Susan Devin from Washington, Anita Gibson from Stevenson, Trudy Israel from Adult School and KiKi Schlosberg from Jefferson Elementary.

The Kiwanis Club of Burbank meets on Wednesdays at noon at the YMCA, 321 E. Magnolia Blvd.  For more information, contact Harvey Branman at (818) 846-7351 or at

Isabel Adams can be reached at (818) 842-7359 or at