Elks announce Hoop Shoot winners

Hoover High School's gymnasium was the site for this year's annual Elks Hoop Shoot Free Throw Competition, drawing boys and girls from Glendale's elementary and middle schools.

Winners of the lodge competition were: boys ages 8 to 9: Michael Malicdem (St. Dominic), first place; Viadimir Centeno (Franklin), second place; and Jalen Miguel (Holy Family), third place. Girls 8 to 9: Clara Georges (Glenoaks), first place; Mary Marutyuian (Muir), second place; and Marylu Eapen (Holy Family), third place.

Boys ages 10 to 11: Ismael Hernandez (St. Ignatius), first place; Max Garcia (St. Dominic), second place; and Martin Astori (Franklin), third place. Girls ages 10 to 11: Pamela Flores (St. Ignatius), first place; Caitlyn Bouchard (Valley View), second place; and Gwendolyn Malvar (Holy Redeemer), third place.

Boys ages 12 to 13: Kenneth Pasco (Holy Family), first place: Alex Palacios (St. Dominic), second place; and John Peralta (St. Ignatius), third place. Girls ages 12 to 13: Jana Ramirez (St. Dominic), first place; Cassey Melkonian (Monte Vista), second place; and Victoria Martinez (Holy Family), third place.

The six Glendale champions will advance to a district competition in January. The six finalists in each district contest then advance to the regional and state competition, with winners competing in the national finals in Springfield, Mass. National winners also have their names inscribed on a permanent Hoop Shoot plaque at the National Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame.

The following schools participated: Dunsmore, Franklin, Glenoaks, Holy Family, Monte Vista, Muir, St Dominic, Valley View, St. Ignatius and Holy Redeemer.

Any parochial or public school that would like to participate next year should contact John Jolly at (818) 242-2105 or e-mail Hoopshoot1289@aol.com.

Copyright © 2019, Glendale News-Press
EDITION: California | U.S. & World