Mayfield Students Receive Academic Honors, Awards

Mayfield Senior School is proud to announce the achievements of some of its top students.

Amanda Yamasaki has received the designation of National Merit Semi-Finalist from the National Merit Scholarship Corporation based on her scores on the 2005 PSAT/NMSQT exam.

Twenty-six students at Mayfield Senior School earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program (AP) Exams.

Four graduates in the Class of 2006 qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are Alexandra Cassutt (Yale University), Anne LeGault (University of Notre Dame), Emily Osterkamp (Georgetown University) and Carmen Stellar (Stanford University).

Seven graduates in the Class of 2006 and two in the Class of 2007 qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of three or higher on four or more of these exams. The recent graduates are Harper Ackerman (UC Berkeley), Sarah Bane (Vassar College), Anouska Hamlin (Vassar College), Caitlin Newhouse (Harvard University), Erin Reid (Georgetown University), Marjan Salehpour (UCLA) and Jane Selicha (UCLA). The current seniors are Liliana Chan-Hou and Romina Ortiz.

Twelve members of the Class of 2006 qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with grades of 3 or higher. The AP Scholars are Glenn Mary Carroll (University of Richmond), Carolyn Cota (Marquette University), Katrina Jesena (UC Santa Barbara), Giana Korth (Georgetown University), Kimberly Linares (Loyola Marymount University), Katherine McClain (Pennsylvania State University), Alexa Meyerson (Santa Clara University), Carolyn Nepomuceno (UC San Diego), Mercedes Rodriguez (Yale University), Alexandra Sinnott (New York University) and Tiffany Yang (New York University). Solange Ku, a current senior, also earned this distinction.

Of this year's award recipients at Mayfield Senior School, three of those students earned the distinction of being juniors at the time that they qualified for this honor: Solange Ku is an AP Scholar, and Liliana Chan-Hou and Romina Ortiz were named AP Scholars with Honor. The College Board's Advanced Placement Program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still in high school, and to receive college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. Only 18% of the more than 1.3 million high school students in 16,000 secondary schools worldwide who took AP Exams performed at a sufficiently high level to merit the recognition of AP Scholar.


Copyright © 2019, La Cañada Valley Sun
EDITION: California | U.S. & World