Copyright © 2019, Los Angeles Times | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy

20 students named program semifinalists in National Merit Scholarship Program

Fifteen students who attend La Cañada Flintridge schools, along with five students who attend La Crescenta schools, were named semifinalists for the 2014 National Merit Scholarship Program on Wednesday.

The students are part of a group of 16,000 high schoolers who will compete for 8,000 scholarships that are awarded next spring.

Semifinalists from Flintridge Preparatory School include Eric Fung, Evan Grobar, Lavan Rajan, Wilton Webster and Martin Wolff. From La Cañada High School are Arushi Gulati, Sarah Kim, Yongsoo Kim, Mitchell Ma, Brian Min, David Oh, Teddy Park, Priyanka Pullarkat and Minkyu Suh.

From Crescenta Valley High School are Devi Ganapathi, Christopher Han, David Lee and Jun Pak.


Michael Dimen of St. Francis High School and Jeremiah Cortez of Clark Magnet High School were also named semifinalists.

-- Tiffany Kelly,

Follow on Google+ and on Twitter: @LATiffanyKelly.



Crime: Woman allegedly steals salt and cashews from Home Goods

Armenian Genocide memorial set for Pasadena

Vigil against Syrian involvement draws more than 200 protesters in Glendale